one day at a time

day 49: dusk

dusk © Verena Fischer 2011

dusk © Verena Fischer 2011

For some reason my health is not so good these days. One might have to add that this is fairly normal for me, since I have many food allergies and a history of bad health in cold weather. Since it’s autumn and almost October now it’s no real surprise that I’m starting to feel a bit rough. Every year it comes as a bit of a surprise though and it takes me a few weeks to adjust to to it again. It’s no big deal, but it always unsettles me a bit for a little while.

I dragged myself to my diving lesson and that’s about all I managed to do. I hadn’t been driving for about two months and now had to change driving instructor and car which was quite weird. My new driving instructor actually gets quite a bit of road rage going. If someone is just in the way for no apparent reason he gets really annoyed and immediately thinks these people are doing it on purpose just to annoy him. I find that quite amusing actually and have to constrain myself to not laugh about him and his temper. Luckily he doesn’t get impatient with me, although he interferes more in my driving than the last guy. It’s just a matter of style I guess.

Well, with my health and all it was really no wonder that I wasn’t feeling like taking pictures at all. There was a bit of a pretty sunset and I took a few pictures then, but I wasn’t concentrating or trying to get it right. Actually I just wanted to go home and lie in bed. Surprising that I still got at least a half decent picture out of it.

24 responses

  1. cool colours in the sky 🙂
    http://www.fotomo.wordpress.com

    September 30, 2011 at 11:51 pm

  2. I hope you start to feel better soon! I really like this photo; the lamp is beautiful and the way you composed the photo, we can see the beautiful sky too. Very nicely done. Thanks for sharing and feel better soon!

    October 1, 2011 at 1:22 am

  3. Gurdeep

    Nice click….get well soon 🙂

    October 1, 2011 at 1:52 am

  4. now that is a stunning shot

    October 1, 2011 at 3:58 am

    • Thanks Jo! I actually wasn’t so sure about this one, but in the end I’m just not a big fan of sunsets. I find them a bit boring usually.

      October 7, 2011 at 3:16 pm

  5. That is a beautiful photo. I hope you feel better soon!

    October 1, 2011 at 3:03 pm

  6. I like the black silhouette of the leaves and the colors of the sky. Even if I’m not a big fan of sunset (I have seen to many…) I have to admit that this one is pretty good. Well done, brava. And get well soon!
    robert

    October 1, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    • Thanks Robert. Indeed I find sunsets boring too and that’s why I wasn’t so sure about this one either. A lot of people seem to like it though, so maybe it’s really just having seen too many sunsets …

      October 7, 2011 at 3:18 pm

  7. This is beautiful …. the color of your blog’s background makes it stand out even more. This photo is frame-worthy, my dear! I hope you get to feeling better soon, I am a food allergy sufferer as well. Not. Fun.

    Nicole
    http://mrshutchison.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/weekly-photo-challenge-sunset/

    October 1, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    • Aww thanks Nicole! I really wasn’t so impressed with the picture myself, but I guess it’s just my own skewed perspective of having seen too many sunset. And indeed, food allergies are not fun at all.

      October 7, 2011 at 3:19 pm

  8. veery nice…love the pink & blue!

    October 1, 2011 at 8:32 pm

  9. It’s a wonderful photo…
    and I hope that you will be feeling much better very, very soon!

    October 2, 2011 at 3:56 am

    • Thanks, it’s just a matter of time until I feel better. I actually always feel under the weather in the cold. Didn’t used to be like this, but that’s how it is now. Guess I should just move somewhere warm 😉 Amusingly Berlin gets as cold as -20°C!

      October 7, 2011 at 3:23 pm

  10. much more than half-decent – this is brilliant! and i love the background that duotone provided as well.
    do take care and hope you are feeling better soon!

    October 3, 2011 at 5:06 am

    • Thanks! Not sure why I wasn’t so fond of this one myself, probably just seen too many sunsets …

      October 7, 2011 at 3:24 pm

  11. woo Your photo is impressive. I like it.Great job. 🙂

    October 3, 2011 at 4:15 pm

  12. Nice and simple composition – it’s good to contrast the colour of the artificial light against the last of the daylight 🙂

    October 4, 2011 at 9:15 am

    • Thanks for your comment! I think without that contrast between the artificial and the daylight the picture would lose a lot.

      October 7, 2011 at 3:26 pm

Leave a comment