one day at a time

Archive for September 5, 2011

day 24: spiky spike berry

spiky spike berry

spiky spike berry © Verena Fischer 2011

Yesterday was the first time since I started this blog that I didn’t go out to take pictures. That doesn’t mean that I didn’t take pictures though as you can see above. I happened to have some physalis lying around and I already thought a few days ago that they make quite an interesting subject for macro shots. So, yesterday I pulled out my macro converter and started taking pictures. It took me a while to find the perfect perspective on it, but in the end it turned out to be a rather Georgia O’Keeffe style picture who Ezequiel mentioned already the last time I tried to take pictures of this strange fruit. If you don’t know Georgia O’Keeffe you should google her. I’ve rarely seen such obscene but interesting paintings of flowers before!

Apart from this little detail there is not much to say today, since all I did yesterday was to write my dissertation and decide on a telephoto lens that I will be my prize for finally finishing my MSc. After giving it lots of thought I decided that at this point a low budget Canon EF-S 55-250 IS should do the trick. For 200€ more I’d get a better quality EF USM lens, but maybe the low budget version is ok for now.