one day at a time

day 86: St. Paulus

St. Paulus © Verena Fischer 2011

St. Paulus © Verena Fischer 2011

I didn’t have much time yesterday to take pictures, but on the way to the supermarket around 10pm I took this picture of the catholic St. Paulus church which is just on the next block. I also noticed on Google Maps that there is a monastery right next door which I didn’t notice yet. Strangely enough I hardly walk down that street, although it’s the closest street side street from my own. Strange how your habits can change the perception you have of your immediate neighbourhood. When I lived in Brighton I lived a little way up a hill. I have to admit that I only once went further up the hill although I lived there for almost a year. And even then it was only because a friend suggested going there together.

8 responses

  1. Island traveler

    Love the monotone effect. Stunning shot!

    November 6, 2011 at 1:28 pm

  2. Beautiful monotone effect!

    November 6, 2011 at 1:29 pm

  3. I like this photo, the B&W tones. The black sky with the moon. And yes, it’s true. sometimes the area where we live is photographically the most ignored. Since a few weeks I have an idea about a project “photography at km 0” . Photos taken in an area nor far from home and that can be reach by walking. This post push me to start it, not only thinking about! Grazie
    robert

    November 6, 2011 at 3:12 pm

  4. Doesn’t look like a last minute effort…great shot!

    November 6, 2011 at 11:48 pm

  5. Glad you went out so late in the day! great image.

    November 7, 2011 at 4:44 am

  6. A great find and a spectacular capture!
    Very nicely done, indeed!
    🙂

    November 7, 2011 at 1:34 pm

  7. I was surprised that a supermarket is located near to this great architecture.
    How nice.

    November 7, 2011 at 2:20 pm

  8. wow

    November 7, 2011 at 8:24 pm

Leave a comment