one day at a time

Archive for November 13, 2011

day 93: sleep photographing

sleep photographing © Verena Fischer 2011

sleep photographing © Verena Fischer 2011

Without intending to I had a monochrome week photographically. Going about my life in the dark late autumn evenings messes with the colour abilities of my camera and I find it really difficult to get the colours right under the circumstances. It prompts me to work with what I’ve got, enhancing contrasts as far as I can to at least get a decent black and white shot and sometimes I even feel compelled to go overboard with the contrasts like in this shot. I was tired last night and it was the first night of the week that I didn’t even feel like going to tango. I was all danced out, cosy in my warm bed, sleepy. And then there was still the issue of my picture for the day. I could have taken some fruit from the kitchen, but I wanted to try something new. I wanted to capture how I felt, although I was really too tired to even attempt it. I did it anyway. And I’m glad I did.


day 92: down below: turn left for the real stairs

turn left for the real stairs © Verena Fischer 2011

turn left for the real stairs © Verena Fischer 2011

On a quest to find some interesting subjects to photograph and to buy some boots I went to the Ku’damm again on Friday. Somehow I find the dark these days so restrictive. My nights I spend tango dancing and that slowly eats away at my access to daylight. I have my habits, go about the things I like and suddenly it’s already dark again outside. This wouldn’t be a problem if only I had a bit of a faster lens! As a result for the outside world it must seem as if I’m living in the subway. At least there you get some bright illumination.

I also tried to take a picture of a street musician, but she didn’t like her picture being taken at all and shooed me off, before I could get the picture I wanted (or any picture for that matter). Then I decided to be a bit more open and ask before taking a picture. In front of a restaurant I saw a man watching the preparation of pasta through the kitchen window. It was a fantastic motif, but when I asked the man whether I could take his picture he said no. I guess I just have to stick to the subway and its rugged charm until I can get a faster lens. I couldn’t help feeling a bit frustrated though, although at least I found some great boots in the end.


Te quiero tango!

Te quiero tango! © Verena Fischer 2011

Te quiero tango! © Verena Fischer 2011

After looking through the last few posts I had to realise something important: Unwittingly I had transformed my blog into a tango blog. It’s not surprising since I go dancing almost every night. If I share some of the thoughts about my day here, then obviously these musings end up being about tango somehow. It’s really what I concentrate on these days. After this realisation I decided that these thoughts about tango really need a separate space. I therefore spent most of yesterday importing all the posts I wrote about tango into a new blog, tweaking its design and doing all the little things that it needs to get a blog on the right track. It will not only be a space for my experiences in the tango scene in Berlin, but I will also share interesting tango videos I found on youtube or talk a bit about the tango music I enjoy. I can’t promise that tango won’t creep into my photography blog again, since it is an important part of my life. However, at least I won’t feel too guilty anymore about going completely off on a tango tangent, since such posts now have their proper home.

So, here it is, my all new shiny tango blog: Te quiero tango!

(The header image I took a few months ago while dancing at the Tangoloft here in Berlin.)