one day at a time

day 87: a sunday in autumn

a sunday in autumn Β© Verena Fischer 2011

a sunday in autumn Β© Verena Fischer 2011

A long walk in the Tiergarten together with my mum prompted me with this beautiful scene. It was a golden autumnal day, quite warm and sunny and the leaves were falling. Although Berlin has lots of touristic things to offer I prefer pursuing such every day activities. It gives me the feeling of being more at home instead of feeling out of place in a crowd of tourists. ‘Home’ is a curious concept. You just can’t force yourself to feel at home, but sometimes the feeling also just forces itself onto you instead. As I might have said before, after half a year I somehow managed to feel more at home here than I felt after 4 years in England. And I don’t even know how that happened!

30 responses

  1. Absolutely beautiful!

    November 7, 2011 at 3:21 pm

  2. Madelaine

    Breathtaking!

    November 7, 2011 at 3:29 pm

  3. I guess home is where the heart is.
    This a a beautiful scene and shot. I adore it!

    November 7, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    • Actually ‘home’ is a strange one. It was never in my hometown and I only was really at home in DΓΌsseldorf. Every other place I’ve lived had a sort of temporary flair to it. I have been hunting for that fleeting sentiment of feeling at home for years now …
      Thanks for the comment Debbie!

      November 10, 2011 at 11:04 am

  4. I love Autumn for photography. These are wonderful colours

    November 7, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    • Thanks Johnny. I’m also a great fan of the colours in autumn. Makes the grey days a bit more bearable!

      November 10, 2011 at 11:05 am

  5. Wow! The colours are amazing. Really great picture Verena πŸ™‚

    November 7, 2011 at 6:01 pm

  6. This is GLORIOUS!!!

    November 7, 2011 at 6:13 pm

  7. Beautiful!!

    November 7, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    • Thanks! I rarely go down the “beautiful” lane with my pictures – I’m more into “interesting”. However, with this one I just wanted to capture how beautiful it looked that day.

      November 10, 2011 at 11:12 am

  8. Gorgeous image!

    November 7, 2011 at 8:22 pm

  9. I love the softness of this; what a bucolic scene.

    November 8, 2011 at 1:30 am

    • Thanks cfbookchick! I intentionally refrained from enhancing local contrast too much to give it a more surreal feel. “Bucolic” is quite a word … I think I never heard it before!

      November 10, 2011 at 11:17 am

  10. This is my favorite photo of yours yet!

    November 8, 2011 at 1:46 am

  11. mark

    very nice! πŸ˜€

    November 8, 2011 at 9:44 am

  12. this pictures inspired me so a warm sensation and it is so rich! great colours! very good snapshot!

    November 8, 2011 at 10:26 am

  13. The overall red mask adds to this interesting scene. Enjoy your time with MOM.

    November 8, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    • Thanks PC Photo. I had a good time with my mum. Actually I didn’t need to change the colours much, just gave it a little more vibrance in the RAW converter. It just was that red out there!

      November 10, 2011 at 11:23 am

  14. What a gorgeous day!
    And beautifully captured, too! Wonderful! πŸ™‚

    November 10, 2011 at 7:57 pm

  15. Such a peaceful feeling here…as if autumn could last forever. The red boat is the perfect little accent to your scene. Feeling “at home” can mean so many things…best of luck in finding your meaning.

    November 10, 2011 at 8:31 pm

  16. WOW!

    November 12, 2011 at 2:29 am

  17. What a beautiful place… Like a dream… Thank you Verena, with my love, nia

    November 15, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

