one day at a time

friends

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with: Olympus Pen E-PL3 and Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

The last few days I didn’t write as much as I planned. I’m behind on my NaNoWriMo project as a result. There is still a lot of time though, so I think I can catch up. The reason why I’m behind was that I had to go to doctor’s appointments every afternoon and felt very tired afterwards. At least I managed to take pictures every day though. I’ve been working on my Down below series again and yesterday I received some gear in the post that I had ordered recently. I got a 35mm viewfinder for my Zorki – the internal one has 50mm – and I also got a ton of film. This time instead of my usual HP5+ I am trying some Kentmere, because I want to experiment a bit. HP5+ is too expensive for experiments. One thing I want to try is to shoot film on the subway. Since my Zorki lenses are rather soft wide open I need to shoot at ISO 3200 to get the pictures as sharp as possible, even though it’s still only f/4.5. So, I’m going to push the Kentmere to 3200 and compare it to Ilford Delta 3200, which is actually a ISO 1600 film that can be pushed to 3200. It should be a rather interesting experiment.

Yesterday on the way to the doctor I had a roll of Kentmere in my Zorki and it was already getting dark. I’m really curious to see how they turned out! The only silly mistake I made was to leave the yellow filter on, which swallows at least a stop. Well, that’s why I used the Kentmere for the first attempt and not the one single roll of Ilford Delta 3200. By the way, I have to say that my new viewfinder is fantastic! It’s so much brighter than the internal one and it’s basically in mint condition. It is an old Zorki finder which I ordered from Latvia and not a fancy brand. Any brand name finder costs 5 times the price and might not be in such a good condition, so I got a real bargain there!

The other experiment I want to make is to abuse the film in some way. Soak it in film soup, boil it or something like that. It should give some really interesting results. Of course I’m going to do this with my Zorki 3C, because I don’t want to risk jamming the film forward mechanism of my 4K.

So, as you can see I was busy photographically, even though I’ve been falling behind on my NaNoWriMo project. That’s what happens when you do too many things all at once. Now that I don’t have as many doctor’s appointments anymore – another one next week and that’s that until December – I will hopefully find the time to catch up.

Leave a Reply

