one day at a time

the new generation

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with: Olympus Pen E-PL3 and Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

This year NaNoWriMo is going well for me. I’m already almost 12,000 words in and right on track. I think this time I can actually make it! For me this project is also a nice way to get back into the swing of writing. Although this writing project is at the moment just for me and not really meant for anyone else to see, it is still good practice and maybe it will inspire me to finally edit my first novel that I finished already last year. I will see how it goes.

In between writing and packing we also went out to the grocery shop. Apart from dinner and some fruit for the trip I also picked up a couple of cans of mussels, since I just haven’t managed to find clean ones in Germany yet. Even here there was only one brand that sold the mussels just in brine, instead of having them in some kind of sauce. It is surprisingly difficult to find some foods without any additional processing, also around here. Bacon with sugar, ham with lactose or whatever else they think of throwing in there. What happened to just plain natural food with a bit of added salt maybe? One perk of being at the see I will definitely miss: always having fresh fish and seafood available. I wonder whether I can get some type of cephalopod somewhere in Berlin as well, even if it’s frozen rather than fresh.

After having yesterday’s roll of film dry over night I also had a look at the pictures and it looks as if there are some really nice ones on there as well. Should be interesting to see how my experiments with Tetenal Ultrafin developer actually look after I scanned them. My next developer experiment will involve Coffenol by the way. I’ve seen quite some amazing results online – for example a beautiful shot taken on Kentmere 400 pushed to 3200 and stand-developed in Coffenol -, which definitely make me eager to try this. Apart from it being one of those mad scientist experiments – fun already because of that -, it definitely beats using toxic chemicals as well. It’s a shame that fixer can’t really be replaced by non-toxic components. I’ve read that salt works as a temporary fix, but it’s not enough for a long-term solution.

Leave a Reply

