one day at a time

… in the solitude of airports I breathe again …

© Verena Fischer 2013

Bilbao, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Bilbao, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Bilbao, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Planet Earth | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Planet Earth | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with: Zorki 4K and Jupiter 12 35mm f/2.8.
Ilford HP5+ souped in Rodinal 1:100 (stand).

I might be posting pictures from the airport, but I haven’t left Spain yet. I just felt like posting some pictures taken with my Zorki and these are actually from my last trip to San Sebastian. Although I’ve been attempting to develop film over here as well, I wouldn’t be able to show you anything, because I don’t have a scanner over here. Besides, so far I haven’t had much luck anyway. I already researched whether I can take a bottle of Rodinal in my luggage next time, but apparently it is on a list of restricted chemicals. Ah, the joys of shooting with film!

What’s with the title of this post you wonder? Well, that line is from the play Hamletmachine by Heiner Müller. Airports always make me think of the play – quite disturbing to be honest and I don’t even like airports in the first place. When I was a student I once played a part in a student performance of that play. No speaking role of course – speaking in public is a horror for me – no, I was just playing a corpse in the first scene. Doesn’t sound like much to be just lying around being dead? Well, try holding perfectly still for that long without sneezing despite being on the floor where all the dust is! The first scene also wouldn’t work without those corpses, so I still contributed a great deal to the success of the play. Or so I tell myself.

That play had a huge impact on me, also because Einstürzende Neubauten performed it as a radio drama. Some years back I was working on a project to create a series of images related to it, but I guess I failed at it. Only a few of those attempts survived and I’m not convinced of them anymore. Occasionally the play still inspires me, but in a less literal sense. In the past certain lines inspired me while nowadays it is more the atmosphere that makes me want to create something.

Leave a Reply

