one day at a time

the readers

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with: Olympus Pen E-PL3 and Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

People sometimes say that they don’t have the time to do the things they want. Well, if it’s photography then I really don’t see how that can happen! Taking pictures commuting is definitely an option, during lunch break, even out of the car it can work. Maybe you won’t be taking those fancy glossy landscape pictures in the most exotic places if you don’t have the time, but there is great stuff right in front of your nose already. You just have to learn to see it. Especially street photography is easy to do just while you’re running errands. These pictures for example were taken on the way to the dentist just before my trip to Spain. I won’t bore you with the common horror of dental procedures, but let’s just say that these pictures sort of make up for the half paralysed face and my personal highlight of not being able to close my right eye properly …! I guess the dentist was overdoing it a bit. This was especially fun considering that in the end the dentist decided to post-pone the treatment until after my return, because there was a risk of complications when traveling. A shame that I forgot to mention my Spain trip until after he turned me into a prettier version of Two-Face …!

Where am I going with this? Well, If you’re committed to the things you want to do, you do them even under the most horrific circumstances, sometimes even in the most absurd situations. Those are the ones that make other people shake their head in disbelief. Taking pictures with a half-paralysed face and not properly closing eye definitely falls into that category. Yeah, I did that. Other people might also find you a little nuts if they see you reach for your camera instead of a tissue at the onset of a nosebleed. Yes, I admit it, I’ve done that as well. If you’re committed, you do those kind of things without giving it another thought.

So, you see, “I don’t have the time” is really a bad excuse. “I’m not committed enough” is more like it. Don’t listen to your own bad excuses and take your camera with you wherever you go. And if your camera is too heavy to do that, then pick up a smaller camera! My Olympus really was a revelation in that respect after lugging around a heavy DSLR or a particularly sturdy old Soviet rangefinder camera before.

2 responses

  1. Completely agree with you, thank you

    October 17, 2013 at 9:43 am

Leave a Reply

