one day at a time

the east

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with: Zorki 3C and Jupiter 8 50mm f/2.0.
Kodak Tri-X souped in Rodinal 1:50 (stand development).

Where better to go with a Soviet rangefinder camera than to the area near Karl-Marx-Allee. The result looks kind of like I time-traveled into the 80s. In fact, the last picture very much reminds me of the area where I grew up in Chemnitz, so that’s very fitting! I definitely want to take some pictures around places where I grew up in Chemnitz and I think this is a clear job for one of my Zorkis!

Apart from that I yesterday enjoyed a sunny day in San Sebastian. Felt like I was properly warm for the first time in weeks! Pictures of San Sebastian will follow, but I first wanted to show off some of the recently developed film. I also ordered the developing equipment to develop my film here. I will be playing around with Tetenal Ultrafin Plus as a developer and I’m curious about the results.

4 responses

  1. Nice, especially #1. I shot tons of bulk loaded Tri-X years ago.

    October 13, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    • Glad you like it, Ron! I’m actually more of an Ilford HP5+ type, probably because the grain tends to get a bit excessive with Rodinal and Tri-X. However, I had a couple of rolls Tri-X lying around still and for these gritty soviet style pictures a bit of grain adds to the feel!

      October 13, 2013 at 9:35 pm

  2. A good sense of matching camera equipment with subject matter. I really like the second shot and its delicious graininess.

    October 13, 2013 at 5:33 pm

    • Thanks Mike🙂 Yeah, the grain in the second one is like gravel thanks to pushing Tri-X a stop or two (can’t remember how much, was a few months back) and stand developing in the grain-machine Rodinal. I like the grittiness of that🙂

      October 13, 2013 at 9:40 pm

Leave a Reply

