one day at a time

yummy, books!

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with: Olympus Pen E-PL3 and Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

Tomorrow I will be flying back to Spain. Although I’m not particularly looking forward to the prospect of travelling itself, I’m sure looking forward to arriving and being there. Also, after seeing some of the results my Zorki produced above the clouds I feel that I can spend the time up in the air in a good way: taking pictures! And yes, that means I will be taking my Zorki after all, since I’ve somehow almost managed to develop all my previous rolls of film that I still had lying around (4 in total just this week, the last is sitting in the developer right now). And, I’m impressed, I was doing quite well guessing the correct exposure settings even without the light meter, well, as far as I can tell with stand development. It compensates a bit for minor mistakes. When you develop the film yourself it all becomes a bit more forgiving. Even my accidental Rodinal 1:50 stand development didn’t seem to cause too many problems (normally I develop in 1:100).

On that note, let me say a few words about my new AP development tank. I had a Jobo before, which is considered to be the best, so I wasn’t expecting much from the cheap replacement. However, I’m actually really quite happy with it! The spools are much less fiddly than the Jobo ones, so that I don’t spend ages in the dark trying to get that stupid film onto that stupid spool – yes, a bit of swearing was always involved with the Jobo spools. Instead the film runs smoothly onto it without causing much trouble. 2 spools were included and and they are held in place by a clip. With the Jobo tank I had one roll, where the spool wandered upwards in the tank so that not all of the film was covered with developer consistently. This can’t happen with the AP tank, because of the clip. Also, the AP tank has a screw top lid, which is much more easy to use than that weird construction Jobo uses. This weird Jobo lid was also the reason why my old tank had to be replaced, because it didn’t want to close properly anymore. The only downside of the AP tank: it leaks a little bit more. The Jobo tank also leaked, but with the AP tank I get quite a bit of spillage. Especially with the fixer this happens, because I agitate more while fixing than while developing. It’s not so bad though, after all I don’t have carpet in the bathroom. Generally I’m quite happy with the AP tank and I’m definitely in no hurry to get a Jobo replacement. Who would have thought that the cheaper development tank would be the better one?

Of course after all this developing it will take me a while to process the pictures, so these are still the digital pictures from the last few days. They were taken around Friedrichstraße.

2 responses

  1. Sounds like you are really really into processing your own film. You have inspired me to dig out my old film cameras. I bought batteries two days ago. Now to find the film!

    October 10, 2013 at 5:52 pm

    • Glad I could inspire you David! It’s definitely fun to develop my own film and I like it that I’m much more in control than with labs. I can decide which developer I use and my mistakes are my own, nobody else will ruin my film!

      Batteries? How modern 😉 ! My two Zorkis (3C and 4K) are fully manual without even a light meter! I feel almost like a sellout for using the 4K now, because that one has a film advance lever and the frame line-up works better with Western film types. Less gritty. The 4K is from 1975 and the 3C from 1956. Both quite a bit older than I am 😉

      October 11, 2013 at 1:25 am

Leave a Reply

