one day at a time

all you need is rock

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin, Germany | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with: Olympus Pen E-PL3 and Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

Yes, it’s Monday and I said I would buy purified water for developing film. Well, so far I haven’t though, because I had to go to the doctor’s office to let them stick me with needles again. They’ve already drawn blood 3 times in a month, but now it’s finally over! Too annoying. Since I’m mainly here in Berlin for the doctor’s appointments, this means that next week after I get the results of these blood tests I can get on a plane back to Spain!

In Berlin it’s already quite cold. In fact it’s actually unseasonably cold, close to freezing at night. I already picked up the first chestnut of the year in the courtyard, so for me it’s officially autumn and the temperatures reflect that. I’m braving the cool nights with wool socks, a blanket and nice hot cups of tea. I’m even thinking of getting yeti out, that’s my hot water bottle. The occasional pumpkin or roast vegetable finds its way into my food as well, which is nice, but I would really prefer a bit more warmth right now. Luckily it’s not yet too freezing for my fingers when taking pictures. Not yet winter, which quickly turns Siberian in Berlin. In Spain there is still a remnant of summer and I’m hoping it will keep until next week. A bit of warm air and sunshine would do me some good for sure! Autumn reaches Spain too, but the climate there is so weird that occasionally there will be a warm day even in winter. In Berlin it’s likely to be the opposite. In between really hot days in summer you’ll find unseasonably cold weather and the winter is positively depressing, dreary and freezing. Well, it’s much closer to Siberia, right? Guess where I’ll be spending the winter months!

Well, although I didn’t manage to get that purified water I at least took quite a few pictures today. I bet you’ll see some of them tomorrow, since I seem to have managed to push through my post-processing backlog. The pictures I’m posting today were taken a few weeks back in Mitte when I was trying to get my broken developing tank exchanged. Other photography related aspects of my day were: Reading my favourite photography magazine, editing pictures, reading about the process of creating art in a book about comics and watching a lecture about Marx. Photography and Marx? Yes, but please don’t ask me to explain it (yet). I will let you know when I have figured it out …!

2 responses

  1. jhucksphotog

    These are absolutely gorgeous. I love the photo in the train of the gentleman on a bike. Just raw life at it’s best. Great work!

    September 30, 2013 at 11:19 pm

  2. Fantastic sequence, Verena! Very atmospheric.

    October 1, 2013 at 7:38 am

Leave a Reply

