one day at a time

too much sun

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with: Olympus Pen E-PL3 and Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

As you might have noticed, I went on holiday this year. Since I was still in quite a bit of pain from my surgery and had pain while walking, street photography was a bit difficult anyway. So I decided to take a break from it all. Instead of taking pictures I spent my time reading lots of Science Fiction, enjoying great food and generally relaxing a lot. Sometimes we even went to the beach. I didn’t manage to get the tan I wanted, but at least I spent my summer barefoot!

While taking a break from photography I also spent some time researching my newest health issues and now I’m trying to tackle this stuff with all the new information I found. I’m going to doctor’s appointments and hopefully I’ll find some solutions soon. I’m a bit better now already but sadly not really quite fit yet. I still have quite a number of things that I can try though, so I’m rather optimistic. I won’t believe those doctors who tell me that this crappy disease is incurable, since they don’t have a clue anyway. They were wrong about my IBS, so why not also about endometriosis? Maybe it will take a while, but I will not give up fighting, that’s for sure!

By now I’m also back in Berlin. After a couple of months with the beach close by and nice surroundings, I’m rather annoyed at my crappy Berlin neighbourhood. It’s such a stark contrast to San Sebastian! In comparison to San Sebastian my neighbourhood here looks just crappy and run-down. Especially “fun” is seeing all the groups of drunks next to the supermarket, being randomly shouted at by some crazy woman in the street or walking past some guy taking meth out in the open. I guess you only really pay attention to such things, when you aren’t used to them anymore. I think it’s really time to move! Of course Berlin has nicer neighbourhoods, but they are too expensive and I don’t really have a good reason to stay in the city. Come winter I will therefore move to San Sebastian and hope that the relaxed surroundings and the better food quality will help me recover my health eventually. Sure, I’ll miss the English language cinema and the option to go to a museum whenever I want, but these little perks just don’t make up for this crappy neighbourhood and the constant stress of having a long-distance relationship.

Again I’m planning to move to another country. It’s strange, since I thought I would finally put down some roots in this city. In the end Berlin just disappointed me though. The tango scene didn’t really live up to my expectations and all the PhD opportunities at the universities here just disappeared with some major funding cuts about a year after I came here. And I don’t even want to contemplate the thought of spending another one of those freezing Siberian winters here! There’s nothing quite as depressing as having half the day disappear in darkness and being stuck inside because it’s -20°C out there! Last year it was almost 4 months of this crap! No way! In the end the only reason for me to stay is my health and the availability of doctors, but that alone would be an absolutely depressing reason to stay. No, I think it’s really time to leave. Doctors can’t really help me anyway. I gave this city a fair chance and stayed 2 years, but I guess it’s just not for me. Finally the long-distance out of the way, a warm climate, great food and possibly some surfing when my health gets up to speed. Doesn’t sound too bad, does it?

In the meantime I think it’s also time to get back to work now. I finally cleaned up my hard drive to find some space for editing pictures and will go through a few more sets from San Sebastian over the next few days. I also have a few rolls of film to develop, but for this I will need to either get my developing tank repaired or get a new one. For some reason mine just doesn’t want to close anymore. Considering that I haven’t touched it for 2 months it’s absolutely baffling how it happened to stop working now! I didn’t even get a cheap one, so I’m rather annoyed about it breaking so quickly. Oh well, I’ll find a solution! In any case, you can expect some more regular updates now.

2 responses

  1. Hope you feel better soon and glad to see you back.

    September 9, 2013 at 2:01 pm

  2. San Sebastian sounds really lovely. I hope it is everything you need!

    September 14, 2013 at 1:04 am

Leave a Reply

