one day at a time

Somewhere above Spain

© Verena Fischer 2013

Somewhere above Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Bilbao, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

San Sebastian, Spain | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with Olympus Pen E-PL3 and Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

Yesterday I travelled from Berlin to San Sebastian. I flew from Berlin Tegel to Bilbao and then took a coach to San Sebastian. Maybe I haven’t mentioned this yet, but I used to live in San Sebastian for about half a year. I took this time off from my Masters due to some health problems and decided to spend this time in a warm country. I learned some Spanish, most of which I have forgotten again, and I also spent a lot of time on the beach. I had a wild tan that year and really quite a good time. This year I’m staying for a shorter amount of time, but I’m planning to at least have that tan again.

As travel goes, it was not so bad. As always I felt a bit queasy on the coach, but the flight itself was pretty alright and not too long either. I watched Rope, the Hitchcock movie, and later also took some pictures with my Zorki near the ground until I ran out of film. It was my first time flying with an analog camera, but I knew that I had to have the film and the camera hand-checked, because the airport scanners might fog the film. The security guy took me to a little room and swabbed the camera and film bag with some weird implement that then went into a strange machine. I guess they were looking for drugs. It didn’t take long and this way at least I know that my film is safe. Now I only need to find a lab here that does black and white development and contact sheets. Shouldn’t be too difficult!

After arriving in San Sebastian I immediately noticed some things that I had already forgotten. For example, there are so many kids here! And of course, the fresh food is amazing. I don’t know what they do with those vegetables, but they are so much tastier than in Germany. I guess it helps not to keep them in cold storage for ages before selling them. To balance things out they only sell rather terrible cheese here and all the processed foods have tons of additives. Finding ham and cheese that I could have on my diet was rather difficult. I also noticed the noise in the streets, the low-flying pigeons, the lack of seagulls. The last point is actually a big pro of this place. Seagulls are vicious thieves and used to annoy me to no end in Brighton. I wonder what else I will notice over the next few days.

One response

  1. That aerial shot is very nice. Enjoy your time, and good luck with that tan!

    June 29, 2013 at 1:45 am

Leave a Reply

