one day at a time

on the corner

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with: Olympus Pen E-PL3 and Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

The best way to shoot street pictures for me is to just go out on my typical errands and take my camera with me. This makes it cumbersome to take a bigger camera or one that needs a lot of stopping, measuring light, taking care of the direction of the sun and so on. No wonder that I have to make an effort to take my Zorki out for a spin. It involves a little bit of planning and I can’t just take pictures on the move. It requires me to slow down, and preferably go to a place where I’m not too out of place with a camera in front of my face. My neighbourhood? Well, difficult. I read somewhere that in the Middle East people are much more suspicious of cameras. Maybe that’s why I don’t feel at ease at all around here when I’m pointing my camera towards a stranger. After all there are a lot of people from the Middle East in this neighbourhood. Here my little Olympus and shooting from the hip comes in handy even though it depends much more on luck whether I get a good picture or not.

Despite this I will try to do more shooting on film the next couple of weeks. I can now develop my own film, so there is much less of a delay when shooting on film. I can shoot a roll one day, develop it the same day and scan it the next. It’s more effort than digital, but I think it will get me somewhere. I think a few weeks of slowing down and taking pictures more deliberately will really help. I’m planning to shoot 2 rolls a week. Not sure how this will work out, but I will give it a shot. And there is no reason why I shouldn’t continue shooting on the move as well. It’s so convenient to have a small camera to take everywhere!

5 responses

  1. I like very much the first shot in this series, the expressions of the guys make the photo. Yes, shooting both film and digital is a good idea, you can alternate them and find out a new rhythm, like playing music…
    robert

    June 10, 2013 at 7:28 pm

    • Thanks Robert! It’s also my favourite of this bunch. I think just restricting myself to either digital or analog would be counterproductive. Both have their uses, their differences and the results are quite different as well. It’s good to challenge myself by changing things around a little.

      June 10, 2013 at 11:52 pm

  2. may i ask what scanner you are using? maybe i’ve missed this information it in one of your earlier posts?

    June 10, 2013 at 7:32 pm

    • I’m using the Epson Perfection V330 Photo. It’s alright. Not perfect and sometimes it has some calibration problems, but for black and white negatives it does a decent enough job. I also scan drawings with it, which is very convenient.

      June 10, 2013 at 11:54 pm

Leave a Reply

