one day at a time

what’s so funny anyway?

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with: Olympus Pen E-PL3 and Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

These days I feel a little cooped up inside. The problem is the damned weather that makes me not want to go outside. However, if I stay inside I just get cranky. I guess I have to brave the rain and go outside anyway. Well, at least Berlin is not prone to flooding like my hometown.

These pictures were taken on Thursday in Mitte. I was walking from Weinmeisterstraße to Rosenthaler Platz, because I wanted to check out the Fotoimpex shop. They sell all sorts of stuff for analog photography and so I picked up some negative sleeves in which I can store my developed film. The shop is actually very close to Weinmeisterstraße, so the only reason for me to walk into the direction of Rosenthaler Platz was that I wanted to pick up some things in the organic supermarket as well. Since my neighbourhood is rather rough and cheap we don’t have such luxuries here.

Mitte is generally not a particularly good place for photography. The streets are too narrow and it’s all so shiny and redeveloped. Lots of designer shops next to each other, tourists everywhere. Well, it gets old quickly. Street photography kind of works though if you stick to the few wider streets and try to pick out the characters. Usually the latter is the problem. Shooting street in tourist areas is easy, because you won’t stick out with your camera, but it usually doesn’t yield much. Tourists obviously look like tourists and behave like them as well. It’s hard to find a good middle ground. The best places for street photography are where lots of people are, but not exactly tourists. On the other hand, my own neighbourhood is almost a little too rough for anything apart from shooting from the hip. It would be a bit scary to point my camera at these huge Turkish bouncers walking around in my neighbourhood. Around here there is a fine line between “trying to seem cool” and “open hostility”, so I try to keep confrontational behaviour to a minimum as to not provoke anyone. And what about the decent enough mid-price areas? Well, in these areas people actually seem to stay at home a lot or they are at work during the day. Empty streets, occasionally some mothers with kids. It’s boring! Well, I need to hunt some more for the perfect places where to shoot people. Once the damned rain stops of course!

2 responses

  1. Great post Verena…I would like to do more street photography but there is nothing around here but farms, cows, and tractors LOL.

    June 3, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    • Thanks David🙂 Well, cows don’t really do much in the sense of street photography. You could get away with dogs though I think😉 Don’t know what I’d do photographically if I’d live in a rural area …!

      June 3, 2013 at 10:52 pm

Leave a Reply

