one day at a time

starlight express

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

I was waiting with them under the roof for the rain to get less heavy.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Why the kid would want the umbrella inside the mall is a riddle for me.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

After the storm is before the storm. More clouds approaching.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

I have to say that this looks slightly wrong to me. Maybe it’s because the girl’s eyes are closed. Also fun: The skull leggings of the girl on the right.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

I like the fact that the guy in the middle is holding a bread while chatting on a street corner. Really makes this an everyday kinda moment.

All pictures taken with: Olympus Pen E-PL3 and Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

Yesterday I walked to the mall to get some measuring cups for film development at home. When using highly toxic chemicals one definitely shouldn’t be using kitchen utensils for it. Although I could have just bought some in my local supermarket I thought it would be better to have measuring cups that look different from the ones I’m using for cooking. Mix ups of this kind would be rather unhealthy. That’s why I went to the mall to get them.

Just when I got out of the house it started to rain again. Within minutes all hell broke loose, a proper thunderstorm, pouring rain. Nothing to do but to wait under the nearest roof until it got a bit better. I didn’t have to wait long and continued walking in the rain to catch some people with umbrellas. The problem was though that the light was rather gloomy and my Olympus was somehow set to prefer ISO 200 with a wide aperture rather than to dial up the ISO setting. This resulted in a lot of shots at f/1.7 with the focus entirely wrong. Wide aperture is fine if you’re in a dark place or when you’re just waiting and composing, getting the focus right and so on, but when you’re shooting outside from the hip the wide open aperture will give you problems. None of the people with umbrellas pictures worked out for that reason. I now changed the settings so that the default ISO is 400. Maybe that will work better. By the way, that’s one thing I really like about the E-PL3: you can change just about any setting imaginable. Some of the settings are very hard to find, but with a bit of searching you can get this camera to do just about anything. I have used this camera almost every day for 1 1/2 months now and I’m still finding things to tweak. It’s a great camera once you figure out all the best settings for it.

As for the Panasonic 20mm lens: Well, that one can be a bit of a mess. The image quality is great, I really don’t have a reason to complain about that, but boy can the autofocus be annoying! Most of the time it does a decent enough job, as long as you shoot at similar distances, but if the distances change a lot or it gets a bit darker then the autofocus is just slow slow slow, and sometimes also far far off. If the focal length and the image quality wasn’t exactly what I was looking for I’d maybe even consider exchanging it for a different lens. However, around my standard length the only alternative is the Olympus 17mm which is much slower aperture-wise and isn’t really any better in the autofocus department as far as I’ve heard. The autofocus of the Panasonic 14mm is supposedly faster, but that’s already a little too wide for my liking, at least as my main lens. I guess I just have to get used to the quirky autofocus of the 20mm and be prepared to lose the occasional picture. I hope that tweaking the settings will already improve this issue a bit.

4 responses

  1. Sounds like the Olympus is a pretty neat walk around camera!

    May 29, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    • Totally! It’s small, unobtrusive, quiet and it has pretty decent image quality as well. I definitely wouldn’t want to miss it!

      May 29, 2013 at 11:22 pm

  2. The first shot grabbed me. It’s rich with narrative.

    May 30, 2013 at 2:05 am

Leave a Reply

