one day at a time

can he pull it off?

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Can he pull it off to hit on a girl in that ridiculous outfit?

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Taken in my neighbourhood.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Drunk Eastern Europeans … They didn’t look like they were drunk, but when the dad walked past me there was that distinctive smell.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Not sure why that knee was so fascinating to the dog. He sat there unimpressed most of the time, but then got really excited about this guy walking past.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Not sure what was going on between them, but pout and blank stare? Seems slightly disconnected.

All pictures taken with the Olympus Pen E-PL3 and the Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

Yesterday I figured out that taking 300 pictures with my Olympus is much easier than shooting 36 pictures with my Zorki. I was out for hours and still didn’t quite manage to fill the roll. I guess I need to head out a bit earlier today to finish the roll off.

I was actually planning to check out the old Jewish cemetery in Mitte and headed out into the rain. Well, I certainly forgot for a moment that I was in Germany. Of course the gate was locked and there was no way to get in. Oh well. So I changed my plans and just started wandering around Mitte. I walked the stretch between Hackescher Markt and Weinmeisterstraße, along different smaller streets, through some backyards and finally towards Alexanderplatz. There I made a left towards the Volksbühne and then back again to Alexanderplatz. There I stumbled into an Afrika-Festival, which indeed was a lucky break, since before then it was slow going with the Zorki. There was still just enough light to hopefully get some decent pictures of people. I think the roll must be almost full now, just a few more pictures left.

By the way, I didn’t even get soaked during all this, because the rain stopped just after I headed out. That’s how it’s supposed to be!

6 responses

  1. I love these! They each tell a whole story without a single word spoken..Well done :~)

    May 27, 2013 at 12:41 pm

    • Thanks so much! I’m glad you like them🙂 I guess the narrative quality is why I have picked these. Didn’t really notice myself😉

      May 27, 2013 at 2:10 pm

  2. I’d like to know why he was dressed as Bane from Batman?

    May 27, 2013 at 1:30 pm

    • I’d sure like to know that myself! It surely wasn’t related to the Afrika Festival where this was taken. There was a whole group of guys dressed up in the weirdest way. I guess tourists having a laugh.

      May 27, 2013 at 2:12 pm

      • He missed the turn to get to Comic-con 🙂

        May 27, 2013 at 2:19 pm

      • It would be a really crappy costume for Comic-con though! Doesn’t look very convincing😉

        May 27, 2013 at 3:29 pm

Leave a Reply

