one day at a time

nobody likes to wait

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with my Olympus Pen E-PL3 and my Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

The day before yesterday was a very long day for me. I went to the hospital early to make an appointment, which happens to be in roughly the same neighbourhood in Mitte as the Olympus Photography Playground. Of course I went to see whether this time there was less of a queue. I got in with just a 10 minute wait and got to try out the Olympus OM-D. I spent a couple hours there taking pictures, which was quite entertaining. I’ll tell you more about this when I post those pictures.

The analog photography course I’m doing also started the same day, so in the evening I headed out again to Prenzlauer Berg. I was pleasantly surprised by the teacher. Not only does he seem knowledgeable about photography, but on top of things he also has a good taste in music. The lesson was really quite interesting. We were talking about all sorts of technical stuff as well as hands on advice on taking portraits and landscapes, and we even discussed one of my favourite photographers: August Sander. The teacher was just as surprised that I know Sander as I was the other way round. August Sander just isn’t very well known in Germany despite being a German photographer. So, although the teacher has a very different style from mine – very pre-conceptualised with a preference for large format cameras – I was still very happy with the lesson. The course will be mostly darkroom techniques, so the difference in style doesn’t matter so much in the end. That said, I definitely learned some stuff I didn’t know, especially about portraits, precisely because this guy works in a very different way. After this first lesson I can definitely say with certainty that this guy knows his stuff.

This week it was just me in the class, so next week I’ll be joining a group that is already more advanced. For this reason I will have a bit of an intense start. I am supposed to fill a roll of film until Monday, when we’ll develop it. Sounds easier than it is: The problem is that I still had a roll of a different type in my camera and so I had to fill that one first. Got that one out of the way yesterday near Ostbahnhof. I took mostly architectural shots of soviet style buildings on that one. On the weekend I’ll be filling the second roll, which is the one we’ll be developing on Monday. On Wednesday we’ll make the contact sheets for this roll of film and then start with making prints. So, all in all I will spend 4-5 hours in the darkroom that day. Sounds tough, but honestly I prefer it this way though, because come Wednesday I’ll already know all the basics. In fact I’m hoping that I’ll be able to develop some rolls of film I have lying around here since last year. The other reason why it will be good to join that other group is that I’ll get to meet some fellow photography enthusiasts, which should be interesting as well.

Leave a Reply

