one day at a time

what are you looking at?

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with my Olympus Pen E-PL3 and my Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

The other day a friend and me tried to go to the photography playground run by Olympus here in Berlin. There was such a long queue though that we decided not to wait after all. It probably would have taken an hour to get in there. Instead we walked around Mitte and finally went to a café near Oranienburger Straße.

I actually wanted to post these pictures yesterday after going to the grocery store at night, but I ended up being too rattled by the outcome of my trip to the store. Apparently the shop was closed because there was a murder there in the late afternoon yesterday! An old man was stabbed to death in front of the meat counter with a knife that you can buy in the shop. How crazy is that?! I knew that this is a rough neighbourhood, but I certainly wasn’t expecting that when I headed out to get cheese. The store was shut off with police tape, two police officers were standing guard and refused to give me any information. Since it was quite late none of the other shops in the area were still open. I just headed home and looked up online what happened. So far they don’t know whether there was a motive or whether the stabber was just crazy. So far it looks more like the latter. What a disturbing thought that I live in a neighbourhood where such things happen. And if it was just a random attack, where does that leave me and my peace of mind? I guess I can be grateful that I normally avoid prime shopping time. However, I think I should really move to a better neighbourhood – although obviously not even that is a guarantee for anything.

Leave a Reply

