one day at a time

?!

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

The boy was carrying a bunch of flowers by the way.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

We followed the music and found this.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Whenever I get confused about Berlin I use an iPod app to find my way. It looks far less touristy than this approach!

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Such a beautiful dog!

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

The light was great. They were coming out of the subway and the sunlight was hitting them while in the background there was only this artificial light that makes people look harsh. I really like how it turned out! In colour it wouldn’t work at all, because of the differently coloured light.

All pictures taken with my Olympus Pen E-PL3 and my Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

Yesterday we went to Mitte to walk around for a bit. It’s not that beautiful, because there are hardly any trees, but well, it’s urban and there are things to see. We first drifted past Fenster 61, which is a little shop front window in which photographers can present their work. To be honest I found it rather anticlimactic. The rather cool long exposures of Frank Machalowski didn’t quite work with the reflection of the sky. I guess it might work better at night with proper illumination. It’s still nice that this space exists though. This part of Mitte is rather boring and empty, because it borders other areas, so we slowly walked towards the more populated areas. Finally we reached Hackesche Höfe, followed the sound of some music and ended up in a rather artsy backyard with lots of street art, cafés and exhibitions. Coming around a corner we then saw a huge creepy moving robotic thing. Apparently there was an exhibition of similarly creepy amusement park robotic creatures in one of the basements and so we just went and had a look. It was called Monsterkabinett and it was actually quite entertaining. The geek in me obviously got the better of me and during the show I was at times pondering how exactly these things work. I refrained from starting geeky conversations though, since my mum probably wouldn’t have been interested in any of the details.

As you can see, in Berlin you can just drift and you might find something cool around the corner. I quite enjoy this aspect of living in the city, although I don’t take advantage of it often enough.

2 responses

  1. Your blog is not only a place to see your work, but also a source of information about where to go when one day I’ll come to Berlin!
    robert

    May 13, 2013 at 11:35 am

  2. These are all so very good.

    May 15, 2013 at 4:35 am

Leave a Reply

