one day at a time

the bull

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Although it sort of looks like this guy is going to charge at the police officer like a bull, he actually got down on all fours and started crawling around. Apparently these people were offending the customers of an outdoor restaurant and the waiter called the police. It took 3 police cars to get them to leave.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Not sure what’s going on here, but the kid had a rather angry expression.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

This was taken at the station Hackescher Markt. I especially like the guy with the hat.

All pictures taken with my Olympus Pen E-PL3 and my new Panasonic Lumix 20mm f/1.7 ASPH.

Yesterday I got a new lens in the mail. I got it for myself to give me an incentive to recover quickly. I also needed a faster lens, because the kit lens is hardly usable in darker places and I tend to take pictures in the subway, which is not exactly well-lit. And wow, this new lens is really great. It’s nice and wide – it would be around 40mm on a full-frame – fast and also sharp. It really gives much better results for my way of shooting.

I tried it out on the way to Hackesche Höfe, where I had to run an errand. It’s a very touristy area, so it was packed with people. Crowds always make me nervous, so I felt rather uncomfortable. I also don’t quite feel perfectly alright yet, so after I got my errand out of the way we just went home. I still got the opportunity to take quite a lot of pictures. And yes, I enjoyed my new lens. I think I’ve found the perfect setup for my street photography!

Slowly I’m also getting used to the fact that it’s been a year since I finished my novel and I haven’t even started editing yet. It’s about time I’d say. It’s a bit of a scary process, because I haven’t had a look at it since I finished. I wanted to get some distance and sort my head out. The novel really messed with my mind and there would have been no way to look at it objectively right after finishing it. Sorting my head out even took longer than expected and then I also became ill. At the end of the editing process I actually want to take the first steps for getting it published, again scary stuff, which is probably also why I’ve been putting it off. Tomorrow I’ll sit down and start, promised!

Leave a Reply

