one day at a time

the industrial zone catwalk

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

This guy clearly has everything: the “übercool” sunglasses (hint: sarcasm alarm), the bored overdressed girl, the Red Bull, the cigarette.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Ah, the cringeworthy boots! And obviously I really like the pretend dog of the other girl.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Obviously her parents aren’t that strict if she can walk around with makeup and the headscarf this dangerously loose. I guess it must be a fashion statement as well. As you can see, people are definitely aware of my camera even when I shoot from the hip. I also like the suspicious expression of the other girl.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

The bandana, the glitter star skull, the ugly bag, the boots. Not sure what to think of it. As you might have noticed by now, my neighbourhood is nowhere near the places where people wear what’s “hip” these days. Sometimes the outcome of the fashion sense around here is somewhat amusing, but sometimes it kinda works as well. At least this way I always have some weird folks walking in front of my camera, so I’m not complaining at all.

All pictures taken with my Olympus Pen E-PL3 and my M.Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6.

My mum is visiting at the moment to take care of me after my surgery. Yesterday the only thing we did was go to the shop. Along the way I obviously took some pictures as well. It already worked a bit better than a couple of days before. I wasn’t quite as exhausted afterwards and generally walking was less painful. I felt that things were looking up. Afterwards we tried watching a Kinski movie, but it turned out that the DVD had a huge crack in it and we only made it to about half of it before it failed. Shame, really!

By now you might already recognise the industrial area I have to walk through to get to the shop. In fact, at times I feel that I’ve thoroughly explored all aspects of this neighbourhood. Not quite true, but I definitely need to change my routine a bit to get some new backgrounds for my street photography. Else it might seem that I only ever walk along two streets in my neighbourhood. I think this recovery period might be a good opportunity to widen my radius.

Although at the moment I’m resting a bit more I still do my bit of daily photography. I take pictures when I get the chance to go outside and every day I edit pictures in Lightroom. I guess my engagement with photography is what keeps me sane during this period. I’m getting better, but not as quickly as I would wish for myself.

Leave a Reply

