one day at a time

normality

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Occasionally I stumble over the hole in front of our house. It’s been there since we moved in December 2011.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Just because you’re in hospital doesn’t mean you need to stop smoking. Seen when I was leaving the hospital yesterday.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Taken out of the taxi when going home from the hospital. This is already in my neighbourhood and still I had never seen those huge faces. And no, I’m not really sure whether they are new. I usually walk on the other side of the road from where you wouldn’t see those faces.

All pictures taken with my Olympus Pen E-PL3 and my M.Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6.

I took all these pictures on the way home from the hospital. In the hospital itself I didn’t have my camera and all I could have photographed was the rather boring view of the roof outside my window (which I also did yesterday). It’s interesting how just a few days of this entirely alien environment can warp perception of what’s normal and what is not. People in bathrobes smoking? Normal. People on crutches? Normal! A familiar street corner suddenly seems odd. Just like that hole on the pavement. In fact things still taste weird after the surgery. I guess I will need a few days to find my feet again.

3 responses

  1. I know what you mean Verena. I was just in the hospital for 6 days. When I got out, it was like a whole new world. It does take a while to recover. Get well soon!!!

    May 1, 2013 at 9:55 pm

    • Oh, you were also in hospital? Then I wish you a quick recovery as well! Shame that one can’t just skip that part where one hobbles around and feels poorly.

      May 1, 2013 at 10:35 pm

  2. I hope and wish everything is ok now with you Verena. Yes, those faces are impressive in one way or the other…
    robert

    May 3, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Leave a Reply

