one day at a time

just before nightfall

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

My favourite time to go grocery shopping is actually when it’s already a bit late. This way the shop is emptier and I don’t have to navigate all the rush hour frenzy shoppers. These days there is still a bit of light around this time and this is how these pictures came about despite my relatively slow Olympus kit lens. My new Olympus is definitely the camera to take in this case though, because it doesn’t add too much weight.

These kids were just hanging around chatting.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

This turned out quite alright considering how dark it was already. I’ve taken pictures of this view many many times, because I find the stairs interesting, but until this one all the pictures turned out boring. The problem is that during the day it’s all full of cars and at night there is nobody around. Not yesterday though: These two shady characters were just standing around there for seemingly no reason whatsoever. They definitely make the picture work.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

This is a rather Turkish neighbourhood, so women with headscarves are a very common sight. We have two mosques within a radius of 2 blocks, a halal butcher a couple of blocks from here, Turkish cultural clubs – only men permitted -, Döner shops and so on. I’m so used to it by now that I don’t even notice anymore. To me it almost seems more strange if I end up in a completely German neighbourhood. Yesterday at the shop I saw a full on display of cultural differences though: This family with two kids, the woman in full burka, a boy in normal Western kid clothes (you can only see his foot behind the dad) and a little girl dressed in what must be considered liberal clothing in their eyes, face and hands not covered. I really like how they sort of clash with the beer crates.

All pictures taken with my Olympus Pen E-PL3 and my M.Zuiko 14-42mm f/3.5-5.6.

Yesterday I spent most of the day working on my portfolio website. I even went as far as to change the css file, because the font sizes were bothering me. Now I’m pretty happy with it and also glad I’m finished. Now I can focus on the content again, rather than on the technical bits behind it. I edited some pictures in the morning as well, like every day, and started reading in another one of my new photography books: A book about Soviet avantgarde architecture from the 1920s with pictures by Richard Pare taken in the 1990s. I’m not normally into architectural photography, but in this case I’m just interested in the topic. The 1920s are my favourite artistic period, because this period brought about so many interesting artistic movements all over Europe, one among which was the Russian avantgarde. It’s so interesting to see how the revolutionary spirit seeped into the architectural vision of this time – although obviously I would never want to live in any of those buildings myself. Human beings are not meant to live in concrete blocks, but it was a necessary experiment nonetheless. The architects whose buildings are shown in this book were true visionaries, especially considering that around this time the Soviet Union was still preindustrial and could hardly come up with enough steel for these truly modern buildings. It is mostly the spirit of the enterprise that really impresses me.

2 responses

  1. Verena, that middle photograph really is great!

    April 23, 2013 at 7:33 pm

  2. I am catching up with my reading today, so this is my third comment today at your blog. I said it earlier, but again, thank you for the commentary you add to your photographic posts. Your experiments in experience really come across that way, and give someone, even thousands of miles away, a sense of experiencing your part of the world.

    April 23, 2013 at 8:05 pm

Leave a Reply

