one day at a time

passing the time

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Seen at Bahnhof Zoo.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

That’s one food display! I’m sure the real stuff doesn’t look anywhere near as appetising. And would anyone really ever buy sushi at a street vendor?

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

I like the reflection in the clock.

All pictures taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my Canon EF 50mm f/1.4.

Yesterday was rather uneventful. In the morning I started my day with the usual routine, editing pictures and reading for a bit. I finished my Street Photography Now book, which I can only recommend. Lots of different perspectives on street photography and many inspiring pictures.

Since I wasn’t feeling too well we didn’t go out, although I would have liked to go to the flea market. On Sundays there are tons of flea markets in Berlin and they are great for street photography. Well, once I feel better after the operation I will still have the chance. I still spent my day with photography though, since I was working on a portfolio website.

So why am I making another website, although I already have a blog here? Well, I’m not sure whether I wrote about this on here, but at the beginning of the month I had a few pictures in a group exhibition in Dresden. Due to health reasons I couldn’t go there myself, but my brother tells me that it was pretty cool – he had some of his work in the exhibition as well and helped organise the whole thing. I would show you some of my brother’s stuff, but I’m still trying to convince him, that he needs a website. For the exhibition I actually decided that my real name is really too boring for Germany. Verena Fischer is like a female German equivalent of John Smith, very common, very boring. My first name was rather popular around the time when I was born and I’ve known quite a number of Verenas over the years. My surname is also among the most common in Germany. If you google my name then you will find mediocre people all around including some random German woman who writes very bad autumn poems, which are truly cringeworthy. Since I also write, I definitely don’t want to be mixed up with that kind of company! So, in the end I hauled out the old pseudonym: Lilly Schwartz.

Now, try to imagine I had to rebrand this blog: I have my name in the caption of all pictures, hundreds of them from almost 2 years worth of blogging. It would be a crazy task to change all that! And then obviously this blog also started with a 365 project with lots of boring and bad pictures. This blog is obviously a place of experiments and of attempts, a place where I talk about my learning progress and about unfinished ideas and projects. It’s not the kind of thing that belongs anywhere near a real portfolio. So, I decided to give myself a brand new website, with a domain, a self-hosted wordpress installation and a portfolio theme with options that only a premium theme could offer on wordpress.com. It has disadvantages: I have to keep my wordpress installation up to date myself and I don’t get all the traffic from wordpress.com, but it also has a lot more flexibility and free themes, which is nice.

So, basically I’m going to make a new name for my photography in an effort to really focus on it properly now. I will combine this effort with a bit of Google+, 500px and Facebook marketing and maybe get some more people interested in my work. My brother and me are already planning the next exhibition as well, so this is good preparation for that too.

So, if you want to check out my new website, then head over to: http://www.lillyschwartz.com. The portfolio will likely still keep changing over the next few days – I guess I’ll remove some pictures and add some others, but the design and general gist of it will stay like this. It will also include a blog – good for search engines and the likes – but since the posts over there will contain the same pictures as this blog and none of the words, you’ll be fine if you just keep following me here (unless you don’t like all that nonsensical rambling of course).

4 responses

  1. Nice to see the shots in a new context. The exhibitions sound very exciting.

    April 22, 2013 at 9:20 pm

  2. Pssst… hey, Ms. F… have you ever heard of Lilly Schwartz? I hear she does some amazing work!😉
    And congratulations on the show(s), too! Very, very exciting! It must have been very upsetting to miss the first one… hopefully the second will make-up for all of that!🙂

    April 23, 2013 at 12:28 am

  3. Sensational, very good your new website. Congratulations
    Cruz

    April 23, 2013 at 3:52 am

  4. Your new portfolio site is beautiful! The pieces are very strong, I love your work, Verena!

    April 23, 2013 at 7:41 pm

Leave a Reply

