one day at a time

bright light

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

It was quite sunny yesterday, so there had to be at least one picture with a silhouette in it.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

(No) human inside.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Next to the Bode Museum two guys were making soap bubbles, which seemed to delight people to no end. They are not so easy to capture, especially on a bright day like this one.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

We sat down at the Strandbar opposite of the Bode Museum. It’s such a pretty place with the canal, the museums right across and the lounge chairs. It’s one of my favourite places in the summer.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Decisive moment deluxe. The girl tried the glasses on, laughed about the effect and took them off again without much delay. I pressed the shutter in just the right moment.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Preparing for a fight? Well, no, just some bored teenagers on the subway trying to be “cool”. I like their absolutely expressionless faces.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

A bit of a diversity shot while waiting for the train. Everyone seemed very bored with that as well. I wasn’t, since I was taking pictures.

In the morning I spent some time editing pictures and read in my Street Photography Now book. I tend to stay in bed for quite a long time after waking up, because I often don’t feel so well in the morning. As long as I have something to do it’s fine though. Later on we went out, because it was a bright and sunny day. It was quite chilly again, but it still seemed like a nice spring day. For a change we went to some tourist spots, along Oranienburger Straße, into the Monbijoupark, sat down at the Strandbar and then crossed the museum island next to the Bode-Museum. We walked along the subway line, had a cup of tea in one of my favourite cafés – the Café Chagall in Georgenstraße. They serve delicious Russian food (that would sadly kill me), cake, hot and cold beverages and so on. Finally we decided to go into the English language bookstore in the Dussmann Kulturkaufhaus to browse. There I remembered that it was Record Shop Day and picked up the limited edition Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds single Animal X. Well, I was happy!

In the end we stayed out for hours and made good use of the sunny day. Shame that it still was a bit chilly, but hey, after the long winter sunshine is definitely a good start!

By the way, I ran out of battery in the bookstore and can conclude that my Olympus Pen E-PL3 takes about 350 pictures per battery charge (which obviously I didn’t take all that day). I already ordered a second battery, which I never needed for my Canon. Well, the continuous Live View takes its toll I guess.

5 responses

  1. An absorbing selection, Verena. A real snapshot (excuse the pun) of life in Berlin one afternoon. The silhouette shot is great – I’m a real fan of those.

    April 21, 2013 at 7:11 pm

  2. Tom

    an die Silhouetten muss ich mich auch mal wieder heranwagen

    April 21, 2013 at 10:10 pm

  3. The last photo has a special charm. Everyone is frozen in time. Very good shot.
    Gracias por tu arte¡
    Cruz

    April 21, 2013 at 10:44 pm

  4. Your street photography continues to be very interesting. The bubble photo is super as is the silhouette.

    April 22, 2013 at 12:39 am

  5. Some really great images here Mike. Love the whole theme.

    April 22, 2013 at 9:43 am

Leave a Reply

