one day at a time

two dogs

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Why have one dog if you can have two?

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Taken at Hardenbergstraße. I always enjoy the juxtaposition between the natural lines of the tree branches in front of artificial lines of windows.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

The end of the line. I love the reflection in this one.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Again, two dogs. I don’t think I saw a single person just walking one dog that day.

I didn’t go out yesterday, so these are pictures from the end of March. By now we have t-shirt weather. Strange how there is no space for spring or autumn anymore in this modern climate.

All pictures taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my Canon EF 50mm f/1.4.

Yesterday I spent my morning finishing my Henri Cartier-Bresson book and also Art and Fear by David Bayles and Ted Orland. Both very enjoyable. Like every day I edited some pictures as well. Later on I spent about 1 1/2 hours drawing, which was frankly a bit of a pain. The book I am working with – Kimon Nikolaides’ The Natural Way to Draw specifies schedules to follow and for some reason the first two schedules are heavy on blind contours. I really don’t like them, because I’m too impatient. Luckily the second schedule has a few less of those, but I guess my subconscious attempt to avoid them was the real reason why I didn’t do my drawing exercises for a few days. Can’t wait to reach schedule 3 and move on to something less painful! I’ll keep on pushing through it.

Last night I also started reading the Louis Faurer book I bought recently. This definitely was a lucky find, because it seems that his work is relatively forgotten these days, although his pictures are really cool. I guess the reason is that he focussed mostly on fashion photography and produced those gritty street pictures only at the end of the 40s and in the 70s, before and after his fashion career. If you don’t know his work, it’s sure worth checking out!

Leave a Reply

