one day at a time

parenting

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

I like how the woman on the left seems to be trying to steal the kids pretzel.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Here I like the kid to the far right.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

And this is one example where shooting from the hip allowed me to get really close.

All pictures taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my Canon EF 35mm f/2.0.

After editing pictures in the morning I had to go out to do some grocery shopping. Like most chores it’s something I find rather annoying. The people having a slow walk in the aisles, the terrible light, the ad announcements, the supermarket music (luckily not in our supermarket), the queues. In Germany it’s also too efficient and I always have problems keeping up with the cashier to even put the groceries back in the trolley, let alone even packing them in a bag. While I’m still busy trying to put everything in the trolley they usually already want me to pay and impatiently tap their fingers when I’m not quick enough. And I’m not even talking about the issue of utter and complete boredom!

To battle the latter I took my camera with me yesterday. Slowly I’m getting the hang of shooting from the hip. I still screw up some of the pictures, but now in most cases I get the framing just about right.

Since I had to get up early today I didn’t manage to get enough drawing done, only one hour instead of my planned two. It’s something though and slowly I’m working my way through the schedule. Just another 3 hour session and I’m done with the first schedule. It’s going a little slower than I hoped, but I’m making progress either way.

One response

  1. Hallo Verena, deine Fotos gefallen mir wirklich gut, ich bin in der Putbusser Straße zur Schule gegangen und ich finde, du fängst das Leben dort sehr gut ein!
    Grüße von Susanne

    April 12, 2013 at 9:48 am

Leave a Reply

