one day at a time

indignation

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

This guy was shouting at a group of people who were blocking the entire sidewalk by walking next to each other. Quite ironic actually since supposedly he is someone going against the typically accepted social behaviour (dog without a leash etc.) and then expects consideration from other people. Only in Germany …!

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Even on the sunniest day this pub still looks dark and dingy. Reminds me of that one night when a friend and I got lost in Düsseldorf Oberbilk while trying to look for another place to have a drink. Let’s just say that Oberbilk is *not* the place to be if you want to have a drink. Finally we and ended up in this really horrific corner pub called “tilt”. Absolutely surreal experience.

All pictures taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my Canon EF 50mm f/1.4.

Yesterday another set of prints arrived. I’m sending a second portfolio to the Kunstakademie Düsseldorf so I immediately went through another glueing session, mounted all the prints on black cardboard – I originally ordered 50 sheets – and put the labels on the back. Now all I need to do is print the application form, glue the table of contents onto another sheet of cardboard and then I’m ready to send it. The last time this process took much longer, but this time I was well prepared and already had experience with the glueing bit. I even opened the window so that I wouldn’t get dizzy from the glue fumes (although I still got a headache from it)! I probably spent about 2 hours on this if I calculate the time in that I spent attempting to fill out the application form. Not too bad!

I also spent 1 1/2 hours drawing. Not quite enough, but I was so tired that I couldn’t face another contour drawing in the end. I’m quite happy with some of the results and will post them over at my drawing blog. I already posted a few drawings yesterday from the day before.

5 responses

  1. I love the “only in Germany” sign-off!. Yup! Great picture. I think I might have been too nervous to take it, he looks on the, agressive side.

    April 5, 2013 at 8:15 pm

  2. Coole Bilder!

    April 5, 2013 at 8:42 pm

  3. I’m wishing you the very best with these applications! You certainly have the talent – please keep us all posted (when you get the good news – I would say it’s only a matter of time and place)!🙂

    April 8, 2013 at 11:23 pm

  4. Not “only in Germany” …this is another universal type of behavior! By the way, thanks for stopping by my blog.

    April 9, 2013 at 5:27 am

  5. Ich bin so froh, Berlinerin zu sein!
    Geboren bin ich in der Nähe der Müller- Ecke Seestr….
    Ich wiederhole mich, wirklich tolle Fotos!

    April 12, 2013 at 9:51 am

Leave a Reply

