one day at a time

street scenes

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

I’m bad with titles. Today I just can’t think of a good title, so I’ll stay unspecific. I like this picture because of the reflection in the window and how the sunshine only hits a few spots of the wall.

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

I have no idea why it says “Species” on the signs. Maybe they mean “Specials”, I don’t know. Or maybe there is a language in which it makes sense. None I know though.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Absolutely weird ad on the right for considerate behaviour in traffic, isn’t it? Taking pictures through the glass back of a bus stop shelter is a neat little trick. Shame that they brand these things. Same goes for windows on the underground. To prevent vandalism they use all these patterns on the windows, which makes shooting out of a subway train quite annoying. Whoever thinks of the photographers?

All pictures taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my Canon EF 50mm f/1.4.

Yesterday, like almost every day, I started my morning with editing pictures. Later in the afternoon we also went to an arts supply store in Prenzlauer Berg, because I needed another portfolio. Since I’ve finished the whole selection for the portfolio I might as well send it to another art school in Düsseldorf. The store was packed with paints and all sorts of paper. It took me a while to find the right water colours I need for some of my drawing exercises soon. I couldn’t find the drawing ink pens I wanted, nor the litho crayons, which makes sense because the store wasn’t all that big. Apparently there is another huge arts supply store in Pankow, which might have those in stock, but it was worth checking out the smaller store first. The big store is a bit out of the way while the small one is at Kastanienallee, a very central and lively area. Better for taking pictures! Again I was mostly shooting from the hip, which I’m starting to really enjoy.

Since I mentioned the arts supply store, I might as well tell you that I spent about 2 hours drawing yesterday. Very rewarding! I’m going back to the beginning of the Nikolaides book The Natural Way To Draw and so I didn’t feel as lost as I did the last time I did these early exercises. I would even say that a couple of my contour drawings don’t look entirely horrible, which is quite nice, since they are not necessarily even meant to look like a proper drawing at all.

One response

  1. Gorgeous first picture! A man at work, another man (in the reflex of the window) going, almost running away. And, between the two Debora is smiling! Great combination, taken with a good framing and a special light. Sometimes, as in the third photo the combination of real life and advertising works well. It gives an idea of the world and the moments we are living in.
    robert

    April 5, 2013 at 10:04 pm

Leave a Reply

