one day at a time

bubbly

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

When you do street photography it is always a good skill to be able to anticipate the next moment. This boy came out of a shop with his mum and a still packed toy in his hand. He ripped the packaging off and quickly walked towards a bin to through it. Already then I knew that I had to be ready for what’s coming next. Well, you see the result here. He continued making soap bubbles for a whole block, stopping, then running after his mum, stopping again, and so on.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

This guy was running towards me without any owner in sight. I took the picture and in the next second he was gone again.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

I was too lazy to walk all the way back, so I took the subway. The closest subway station is only one stop from Pankstraße, where this was taken, and the stop Pankstraße is not that far away either. The closest is about 10 minutes walk from my house, the one at Pankstraße maybe 15 minutes, not much difference, but I was freezing cold at that point. I spent about 10 minutes waiting around for something to happen, took some pictures of people walking past and sadly I missed a shot that could have been good, because there was someone in the way right when it happened. Well, at least I saw it in the first place.

All pictures taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my Canon EF 35mm f/2.0.

Before and after handing in my portfolio yesterday I was also taking pictures. It’s still freezing out there and the broad avenues in that area don’t provide much cover from the wind. It’s not that much of a walk, but my fingers were red by the time I was back at the station. They stayed that way for a couple of hours. I sure can’t wait for the weather to turn, but it seems as if I still have to wait for a while. Today it started to snow again and the last snow hadn’t even quite melted yet. Boy am I sick of this weather! Somewhere I read that it’s supposed to stay this way until the end of April. By now they hesitantly call global warming “climate change”, because it’s most definitely not warmer in the winters.

As you know I spend every day working on my photography now. Like every day I edited some pictures, which Lightroom makes really simple. I have reduced my editing time a lot just by using Lightroom and so I have more time to focus on the selection, on taking pictures and doing other things. Yesterday I also spent some time looking at the wonderful book “Vivian Maier: Street Photographer”. Beautiful pictures. If you don’t know her work, check it out!

Thomas Leuthard writes in one of his ebooks on street photography that going out there to shoot is enough and that there is no need to look at the great masters of photography. I don’t agree with that at all. He writes that he’s not interested in the history of street photography himself. I think it shows in his work. I personally believe that looking at great pictures will train your eye to know what makes a good photograph. If you don’t engage with what has come before your work, then it all happens in a creative vacuum, without any objective reference points. Of course you improve by shooting as well, but if you reduce the process of learning just to that then your progress will depend on a lot of guesswork and more on luck than on knowledge. And besides, looking at the great masters is a great way to spend your time in any case! When I read that Thomas Leuthard isn’t interested in the history or in the great masters a question pops into my head: Why do photography if you’re not actually interested in it?

Leave a Reply

