one day at a time

winter fun

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Riding a bike in this weather? Well, that’s pretty crazy in my book. Too cold, too slippery and especially on the streets not really that advisable. It won’t keep kids from doing it though. I grew up in an area with hills and there riding a bike in winter is even more dangerous, so I don’t think I ever did that as a kid.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

It’s March, so wouldn’t be the first spring flowers be more appropriate? Well, not this year. It’s almost April and the city is still covered in snow and ice.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Not sure where they found a hill to make a sledge ride even possible! Berlin is too flat for this kind of winter fun, I would say. Where I grew up it was the normal thing to do on a winter afternoon though. By the way, if this picture looks crooked, then there is nothing I could do. It’s actually the street and the lampposts that are crooked. They all face in different directions it seems.

All pictures taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my Canon EF 35mm f/2.0.

Things are getting better over here. Yesterday I spent the morning looking through old pictures. I think making a substantial cull in my library wouldn’t really be doable. Right now I’m just selecting good pictures, which are not too many, to be perfectly honest with you. At the beginning I was shooting a whole load of strange pictures, testing things and trying to get to grips with the camera and the light. Especially the pictures taken at night are horrific, mainly because I only had the kit lens and a telephoto at that point. It’s interesting to see the learning progress in these, so I’m going to keep them and only delete the out of focus or shaky shots. Maybe at some point I manage to let go and only keep the ones that I selected now. Sometimes I also don’t really see why I thought a picture was good back in the day. Strange how the perception of this changes with experience.

I also finished reading another ebook on street photography by Alex Coghe and boy does it need editing! Some good information, but some parts are virtually unreadable and hard to understand, because the English is really off. Not too sure that it told me anything new either. Thinking about the process is good though and helps in other ways.

Just before going to bed I also cleared my desk for the glueing session for my art school application today. Strange to be doing this, since I was always bad at this kind of thing. I hope I don’t make a mess of it! It needs to be done today though, since I need to hand it in until tomorrow. Having some days of bad health just prior to deadlines is plain annoying, but I am used to it.

Leave a Reply

