one day at a time

the snow starts falling

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

It has been a miserable winter in Berlin. Cold, lots of snow and very dark. A couple of weeks back I went to Viktoria-Luise-Platz to look at Micro Four Thirds cameras in a small camera shop. We discovered the shop a while back when we were walking around the area surrounding the Argentinian Embassy. It’s probably not the closest camera shop, but I remembered that they had a number of MFT cameras on display last time we were there, so I went to check it out. Just when I reached Viktoria-Luise-Platz it started snowing and quickly it turned into half a blizzard. The square looked like the picture above when I went into the camera shop. By the time I came out there was already a thick layer of snow.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

The old subways running on that line actually have separate coaches which provided me with this surreal photo opportunity.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Here a picture that shows you the kind of miserable experience snow in the city means. Can you notice that I am longing for spring? It’s almost April and we still have 5 degrees below freezing out there. I guess next year I should try to spend my winter in a less cold part of the world.

After a few good days yesterday wasn’t so great healthwise. I stayed in bed for most of the day, edited pictures and added my photo library to Lightroom. 17000 pictures. I sure was busy! Over time I will start to delete the ones that are not worth keeping, because this number strikes me as a bit too excessive. I had a quick look over the library and especially when I started figuring out my camera there were lots of blurry and bad pictures. If I keep up this pace my pictures are going to be unmanageable pretty soon, so I need to be a bit more ruthless with my editing. That said, I’ve also seen quite a number of pictures worth posting. At the time when I took them I only allowed myself to post one shot a day, so there are lots of pictures that haven’t gotten much attention from me, because they didn’t make the cut.

I hope tomorrow I can manage to finish my portfolio. All it needs is a bit of a glueing session and a quick stop at the local copy shop to print out some forms. I am very happy that I’m doing this and it’s been quite a learning experience already.

8 responses

  1. liramusic

    Lots of snow here. Enjoyed your narrative. Great pictures.

    March 25, 2013 at 7:29 pm

    • Thank you liramusic! I’m so sick of the snow …….

      April 5, 2013 at 1:40 pm

  2. I did not imagine that winter is so long in Berlin. I sometimes dislike me because in Buenos Aires’s two weeks too cold, but no snow. Too bad that I could not meet you in your city. But again can be. Congratulations for your shots, always so inviting see your blog.
    Cruz

    March 26, 2013 at 3:24 am

    • It’s actually quite ridiculous how long the winter is here. This year it’s particularly bad, already the 5th of April and there is still snow outside! At least it’s not a humid cold like in BsAs! I used to live in England and there it’s so humid that I suffered a lot more in the winter.

      Sorry about missing the chance to meet. Had a bit of a health crisis during the time. Next time or when I finally manage to get to BsAs myself!

      April 5, 2013 at 1:40 pm

      • I hope it happens and you may know in Buenos Aires. I look forward to your early spring Berlin.
        Carlos

        April 5, 2013 at 4:21 pm

  3. Great shots and good luck with your photo cull. Seems like you have a big job on your hands!

    March 26, 2013 at 10:30 am

    • Haha thanks! I’ve actually given up after just a few pictures. It’s soooo hard to cull!

      April 5, 2013 at 1:37 pm

  4. We finally got rid of most all our snow but now tonight and tomorrow have a blizzard warning. I don’t mind the pristine white stages, it’s the dirty ugly half-melted stuff I hate…so depressing to look at that!

    April 9, 2013 at 6:32 am

Leave a Reply

