one day at a time

Christer Strömholm exhibition at the c/o Berlin

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

A couple of weeks ago I spontaneously went to an exhibition with works of Christer Strömholm at the c/o Berlin. The exhibition and also the building of c/o Berlin was closing the day after, since they are moving to a location in west Berlin. Their new location is by chance a building that I photographed a while back. At that point its future was still unclear, but now it is going to be the new home of c/o Berlin. They often have very nice photography exhibitions and I’m so looking forward to seeing the inside of the building.

The Postfuhramt, which is the old location of c/o Berlin seems pretty run down, so I had quite a bit of fun taking pictures inside. That’s why today I’m posting a few more pictures than I usually do.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

By the way, I love the picture of the cat by Christer Strömholm. I also enjoyed his early work in Paris. If you don’t know him, he sure is worth checking out!

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

This picture already gives you an impression of how run down the Postfuhramt seems.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Everywhere the paint was peeling of the walls and the wallpaper was discoloured in many places.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

This girl was watching the documentary that was running in one of the rooms. It was made by Christer Strömholm’s son. There were quite a number of moments where I chuckled about some of the guy’s statements. Strange character that one. It’s a shame that the documentary is nowhere to be found.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Well, the Postfuhramt sure has character. I hope that the Amerika Haus is just as nice inside and that they are equally openminded about photography inside.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Letting your baby play on the stairs? Not sure whether that’s brave or just stupid. In any case, this picture gives you an impression of the upstairs corridor. Exhibition rooms are leading off both left and right.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

This abstract shot came to me when I was taking my things out of the locker. I then made another round in the bookshop and realised that the catalogue of the exhibition was way out of my price range. Boy was it beautifully printed though!

All pictures were taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my Canon EF 35mm f/2.0.

Yesterday I spent lots of time editing these pictures, because they made a nice series like this. Apart from that I mostly spent my day with boring stuff, like importing pictures to iPhoto and doing the backup. This is such a chore, because it’s so incredibly slow when importing, but I needed the space on my harddrive. I have my iPhoto library on an external harddrive. Both my internal harddrive with my most recent pictures as well as the iPhoto library on the external harddrive are backed up to a second external harddrive. Backups are important, my friends, don’t you forget that! Yes, this is boring work, but at least you can feel safe once you have it. By the way, I’m not excessively paranoid, so I don’t have an offsite backup. Or was it because I can’t afford appropriate online storage space? In any case, one backup is probably enough.

I didn’t only do boring admin stuff though. I also read a free ebook about street photography (Going Candid by Thomas Leuthard – download it here) and a really interesting article about artistic vision – The Helsinki Bus Station Theory by Arno Rafael Minkkinen. Both give some sound advice and especially the article about vision is very enlightening! By the way, before you start reading the Leuthard book, I can warn you already that you will need some serious guts to take Thomas Leuthard’s approach to street photography – and you need guts for that even without being this into-your-face. I like his fully automatic Micro Four Thirds approach though. I shoot manual on my Canon and every now and then I lose a street shot because I don’t nail the settings right away, especially when the light changes abruptly. Normally ISO 400 and f/5.6 work pretty universally outside. In the subway it’s usually ISO 1600 and f/5.6 as well. F/5.6 is my favourite aperture for street photography because it will still look alright in most cases, even if the autofocus does something weird.

2 responses

  1. Great shots, Verena.

    March 22, 2013 at 7:51 pm

Leave a Reply

