one day at a time

passing through

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Another busy day focussing on photography yesterday. I edited these pictures, reviewed some more test prints and then took my camera for a spin in the neighbourhood. I am also glad to be able to say that I found a really fantastic lab. Not only is the printing quality superb, but it’s even cheaper than the last lab I tried. Instead of the terrible print quality from last time this lab offers great tonality, even in the dark areas. I was very pleased and immediately ordered another set of prints, which is apparently already on its way. With a bit of luck these will already be the final prints for my portfolio, although it would be conceivable to go another round with the cheap price and the quick turnaround.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Generally I was very tired yesterday, since the building management had the great idea to clear the snow drifts in the courtyard at 7am in the morning. That’s still the middle of the night for me, since I’m really not a morning person. It was already the second day in a row being woken up by machine noise, so I was not too happy about this. I mean, snow is annoying at the best of times, but it’s getting ridiculous. Isn’t it supposed to be spring by now? Well, not here in west Siberia anyway!

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my Canon EF 35mm f/2.0. I’ve consistently been editing my pictures in Photoshop with the Alien Skin Exposure plugin. Lately I’ve been thinking that maybe I should make an effort to organise my pictures a bit better. Selecting the pictures for my portfolio kind of showed that my way of organising things might be good for the actual process of editing, but not for finding anything in my library. And honestly, whenever I import pictures into my iPhoto library my computer is basically unusable throughout the duration of the import, because iPhoto slows things down so much! This means that mostly I’m not even using iPhoto to select the pictures, because it creates too much of an obstacle before I can see the pictures. Before long I will have to find a better solution. And as for the organisation, that’s quite difficult anyway. After all I already have about 17000 pictures in my library, no wonder I can’t find anything! Any tips welcome.

Leave a Reply

