one day at a time

a building full of books

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

It has been 5 months since I started with the diet that was supposed to restore my health. I still get good days and bad days, but in general I think that it has helped a lot. Especially figuring out some additional supplements and some so far unknown food intolerances has been rather valuable in general. Still a long way to go, but things have been getting better recently, also on the pain front. The only thing I really need to change at this rate is my rather inconsistent sleeping pattern, which sometimes sets me back. Yesterday was one of those days. I went to bed too late, looked at the screen for too long and as a result couldn’t fall asleep. And then early in the morning the next day the building management decided to clear the snow drifts in the courtyard with a rather noisy machine. I was so annoyed, although obviously it was my fault as well for not turning of the computer at 12. I was terribly tired and feeling quite bad as a result.

Editing these pictures was a joy though, since they were dark, but bright enough for the RAW format to save the day. You can push the exposure in RAW by 1.0 without introducing that much noise, so walking around with my 35mm f/2.0 at night handheld is still ok, as long as there are appropriately lighted areas.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

These pictures were taken at the local public library, which is a really nice building. So far I haven’t been inside, since public libraries rarely have books that interest me, but I always enjoy walking past the building. It was the first time I came by during the dark when it was still open.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Apart from editing pictures I was also catching up with one of my favourite blogs yesterday ShootTokyo, which I haven’t read in 5 months. Dave is a really talented photographer who has a great eye for composition and is lucky enough to be able to afford the exact Leica gear I’d like to have myself (and which I could only afford if I were to win the lottery). His pictures are quite special and often remark on odd and interesting stuff to see in Tokyo and other parts of the world. If you don’t know his blog already, check it out!

I finished reading a book about Black and White photography, which had very little new information for me, especially since it was focussing on Lightroom (I use Photoshop) and a plugin called Silver Efex Pro 2 by Nik Software, which I also don’t own. I personally use Alien Skin Exposure for my black and white conversions. Silver Efex Pro is supposed to be even better, but so far I’m actually quite happy with what Alien Skin Exposure offers. The general composition and exposure advice in the book is good, but nothing new. Next I’ll be reading a book on Street Photography.

I also did some drawing exercises in between, which made very clear that I need a lot more practice. I first drew a bug seen from above and then tried to draw from imagination what it would look like in perspective. It’s a very difficult exercise for me, because I’m not used to drawing from imagination. Today is going to be more of the same and maybe, if I’m not too tired I can also continue (or maybe restart) my figure drawing exercises.

4 responses

  1. I love that Library shot. 🙂

    March 20, 2013 at 6:58 pm

  2. Thanks for the comments and link to ShootTokyo. I like the shot of the building full of books.

    March 21, 2013 at 12:16 am

    • Thanks Dave! I really enjoy your work a lot, so it’s only natural to share the link with my followers🙂 Keep up the good work!

      March 21, 2013 at 12:40 am

Leave a Reply

