one day at a time

masked

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

 

Not sure who’s weirder, the girl with the scarf over her head while she’s walking or the guy with his bag around his neck like a schoolboy. This picture was taken by chance by the way. I was attempting to take a picture of the building in the background and this is what happened right in front of me! I love when these things happen. Especially amusing that it was right outside the art bookstore König.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

The scooter was just around the corner from where the other picture was taken. Every now and then I see a particularly nice scooter and just have to take a picture. Not exactly the most expressive or interesting subject, but nevermind, I just like scooters, that’s all.

Today I bought art supplies online, some thick paper, some cardboard, a portfolio, paintbrushes and acrylic paint. I guess I’m serious about this! I have been toying with the idea to learn to paint for a while, and now I have a reason to get started. Well, it’s going to be an adventure! Just like everything else, really. I’m still looking for the right lab to print my stuff. Today I also ordered another set of testprints from a relatively cheap lab that was recommended by other people who have printed their portfolio pictures there. We’ll see whether it holds up. I’m mostly going to look for decent enough tonality in this one. Fingers crossed that I can use this lab, because the prices are really quite decent. If I had to print just a couple of pictures, I’d probably go with the more expensive lab anyway, but with this many pictures it would make me quite poor.

Because of my printing attempts I was reading up on colour management as well. Did you know that most monitors actually have less of a colour range than a camera sensor can produce? That’s why photographers buy dedicated screens which show more colours. And even then there is still the problem that screen and print are completely opposite processes. No wonder it’s such an art to get the colour management right. I still have lots to learn about it. And yes, that’s also true for black and white, because colour is in this case mostly about contrast and tonality.

2 responses

  1. I really like the first photo, there is “something” in it. Yes, maybe it was not desired but you were in the right place in the right moment.
    robert

    March 21, 2013 at 11:28 pm

    • In fact, for me such moments are very much desired! I think I go out there to shoot precisely for these unplanned mysterious moments where everything falls into place🙂

      April 5, 2013 at 1:49 pm

Leave a Reply

