one day at a time

oh so bored

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Lately when I’ve been taking pictures in the subway I’ve been using LifeView instead of the viewfinder. The subway is such a tight space that it somehow feels more like you’re invading someone’s space when taking a picture. Outside the subway I have occasionally taken pictures of people that close to them, but in the subway I somehow don’t have the guts. I quite like the facial expressions in this one. All three of them seem just so bored!

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

I like reflections. Often the focus doesn’t quite work, but in this case it somehow does.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

In this one I can’t quite figure out where the lights on the sides are coming from. It just doesn’t look like it’s coming from the spots in the ceiling. The light is too focussed to come from a source this far away, or am I wrong?

All pictures were taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my Canon EF 35mm f/2.0 sometime in January.

By the way, today I received some test prints for my portfolio from a cheap lab and I was just appalled by the quality. Granted, there might still be an issue with my own colour management – I still need to calibrate my screen properly, since I’m just using my mac’s default calibration. So far I’ve been optimising my pictures for viewing them on the screen, so having an uncalibrated screen might reflect best what other people are seeing, especially the people with macs out there. Quite likely that’s not enough for printing, yes, but it actually goes beyond just that. The odd thing was not that most of the prints were too dark – would make sense if my colour management was off – no, the odd thing was that there were 3 pictures that were just about right. If it really was my colour management, then they would have to be all off, or am I wrong?

The thing that annoyed me the most though was a slight violet and blue colour cast on my size test – I was making sure that 20x30cm would be big enough and testing the quality of the service at the same time. Most people probably wouldn’t even notice, but I happen to have relatively good colour vision and pick up on such things. Seems like their printer wasn’t quite calibrated either. So, weird colour management, no colour profiles to download and a badly calibrated printer on top of things. And if that wasn’t enough, the whole print generally lacks tonality, not only in the dark areas where I would just about expect it, but also in the mid tones. It generally looks like there is just not much variation in the greys at all. All not very nice. I guess I will have to go with the expensive lab where I sometimes also develop my film. This means that it’s all going to be a little bit more expensive than I originally hoped. It was to be expected though.

And through all this I’m actually learning a lot about printing, very difficult topic it seems. And honestly I’m quite enjoying all this. I haven’t done prints in years and never this seriously anyway.

3 responses

  1. Picture two is fabulous. Very enjoyable. I hardly ever use live view. So interesting… and I do like picture 3.

    March 15, 2013 at 2:49 am

  2. Great shots. I love the first one – so much going on – the second works really well, and I’m always up for a tunnel!🙂

    March 15, 2013 at 8:10 am

    • Thanks Richard! I’m glad you like them! The first one is probably my favourite here, although the tunnel is really quite nice too!

      March 18, 2013 at 1:46 am

Leave a Reply

