one day at a time

aqua

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

I don’t often photograph buildings like this, mainly because it is horribly difficult. Getting the perspective right, the crop, having the right space to move around is usually quite difficult in the urban setting. I had to crop this picture to actually get a decent frame, because I didn’t quite get close enough. I can’t remember whether there was actually a gate or a fence or whether I just didn’t feel like spending the time composing it properly.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Doorways and windows are some of my favourite subjects, although mostly they are just too obvious to make the cut. In this one I like the contrast between the bright bit on the left versus the shadow in the middle. I think what also makes it interesting is that it gets lighter again on the right.

© Verena Fischer 2013

Berlin | © Verena Fischer 2013

Here I mostly liked the bars on the windows and the contrast between the house and the trees. The original was not quite as sharp as I would like, which was mainly due to chromatic aberrations of my 35mm lens and shooting wide open generally. It was already getting dark, but I could have stopped it down at least a little bit. I also have that problem with my Canon EF 50mm f1.4 when shooting wide open in high contrast situations, for example at night. Well, precisely when it’s not that great to have to stop the lens down! Fortunately one can do quite a lot about it with Photoshop, although it took me a while to figure out which sharpening tools to use in which order.

Leave a Reply

