one day at a time

geekism

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

A few years back I had a really awkward experience. I was at a bar in Duisburg together with a friend. The place was crowded and I knew very few people. We were having some drinks and at some point a friend of my friend started talking to me. After only a couple of minutes I was already trying to find excuses to get away from this guy, because he started talking about this incredibly boring and random topic. Apparently he was interested in the history of the nomadic horse tribes of Eastern Europe. While this might be interesting to some extent while you are zapping through the channels on TV or when you randomly stumble upon an article on the internet, it was definitely too boring and random for a conversation in a bar, especially considering that I was already slightly tipsy at that point. The awkward thing that happened next was that suddenly a guy standing next to us turned around and said “Wait, are you talking about nomadic horse tribes? I have been interested in that since I was a child!” Immediately these two guys, both regulars at this bar, started almost shouting at each other, since they recognised each other as kindred spirits. They never knew they had this really random thing in common. Well, at that point I gave up, shrugged and left the conversation for good. What are the chances of two guys interested in the same random topic meeting at a common corner bar? I guess close to zero.

Well, I have my own random hobbyhorse topics: A few years back it was flightless birds, lately it’s been parasites that can affect the behaviour of their hosts and at some point it was deadly or weird cephalopods. You can imagine how funny I found it when I stumbled over this cephalopod book at a friend’s place. How random that we both are fascinated by cephalopods! Or maybe not so random, since we are both friends and similarly geeky. In fact we both studied together in Sussex and completed the MSc in Evolutionary and Adaptive Systems. A certain liking for weird and geeky topics is quite common among the EASy students, since otherwise we probably wouldn’t have become interested in that Master programme in the first place.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Cephalopods are not the only thing we have in common either. He also likes photography and rangefinder cameras. I was really fascinated by his Yashica Electro 35. Especially fitting is the other geek gear in the background, which immediately makes me want to go play with my Arduino board. Ah, the world is full of fascinating stuff!

Both pictures were taken with my Canon EOS 450D and a Canon EF 35mm f/2.0 lens.

4 responses

  1. Great the the similarly obsessed find each other – otherwise it would be a lonely world!
    Elephant

    March 9, 2013 at 5:12 pm

    • Indeed Mr Elephant. The similarly obsessed seem to be drawn to each other, I like that!

      March 15, 2013 at 2:31 am

  2. The world is filled with fascinating stuff…

    March 9, 2013 at 5:26 pm

    • I wouldn’t want it any other way! There are probably lots of weird and wonderful things I haven’t quite noticed yet, so here’s for more weird and fascinating stuff😀

      March 15, 2013 at 2:33 am

Leave a Reply

