one day at a time

winter blues

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

The last couple of months have been difficult. In fact this is even an understatement. Maybe “nightmare” fits better. For quite some time I was in excruciating pain and I didn’t really know where it came from. Only recently I finally figured out that it was something I was eating every day. This doesn’t mean that now all the pain is gone, no, I’m still working on that, but at least it’s back to the bearable and only slightly annoying low-level pain that I have been ignoring for the last few years. After all the pain recently it seems not even like a big deal anymore. I can live with it.

Well, who ever said I needed to be 100% healthy? I would be perfectly happy with 80%, as long as it doesn’t keep me from doing the things I want to do. The bad pain certainly prevented me from going out much and therefore I didn’t take a lot of pictures lately. Only yesterday and the day before I finally managed to get out of the house properly.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

These pictures are actually from January, before things got too bad. It was full blown winter weather then and I went over to Kreuzberg to visit a friend. In between we had a few warmer days also – especially the last couple of days -, but now it’s back to the freezing cold. Oh, how much I wish for summer now! Winter in Berlin is just so miserably cold and dark! If it wasn’t for the gulf stream nobody would even think of inhabiting this stretch of land in winter! Seriously, I checked the latitudes. And me personally, well, I’m really not made for cold weather. I always feel worse, when it’s cold! The dry continental air makes the Berlin cold slightly more bearable than the damp winter in Brighton, but it’s only a matter of degree. I would generally prefer to spend my winters somewhere else.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

All pictures were taken with my Canon EOS 450D and a Canon EF 35mm f/2.0 lens. I really like this lens, since it’s just such a natural fit for the crop sensor. Next time someone asks me which prime lens to buy for a crop sensor Canon I will definitely recommend this one.

16 responses

  1. I understand how you feel about cold winters, wherever one has to spend them! Somehow we ended up spending this winter in Burgos, one of the coldest places in Spain! Hopefully next winter we’ll find a way to be somewhere much warmer. Good to hear you’ve figured out what was causing the pain, but sorry to hear that you still have low level pain. I can relate to that as well, having slipped a disc in my neck when I was 27. When I was still in my twenties, can you believe it? Since then I’ve had a pain in the neck, so to speak, ever since. Last summer in Vichy with incredibly hot weather I was pain-free for months, so I think I also suffer more in colder weather. Anyway, here’s to warm weather and being free, or relatively free, of pain.🙂

    March 8, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    • Oh, I’m sorry to hear that you also have pain! I’m still trying to figure out how to manage it (without painkillers), but I think I’m on the right track. Cold weather tenses the muscles up, which aggravates old injuries, so it would make total sense that your pain is worse in winter. I was also much worse in England, because the humid cold really goes down to the bone. Even though the temperatures are colder here, I tend to have less problems with this, also because there is proper heating and insulation here! I also realised after some blood tests that I was low in vitamin D which also relates to the summer – winter divide. I now take it daily and that really helps me over the winter too. Moving to a slightly warmer location would be nice though🙂

      March 15, 2013 at 12:38 pm

  2. Glad to see you back.

    March 9, 2013 at 12:05 am

  3. amazing mood in your images! wonderful!

    March 9, 2013 at 12:58 am

  4. Nice to see you back.

    March 9, 2013 at 2:00 am

  5. sorry to hear about the pain, but hopefully with the root cause analysis you can keep it under control. Glad to see you back !

    March 9, 2013 at 11:51 am

    • Thanks abu. Still not sure where it comes from, but I’ll figure it out eventually🙂

      March 15, 2013 at 2:26 am

  6. I am glad you are starting to feel better – those food allergies/sensitivities can be so difficult to work out (I had to stop eating wheat 4 years ago but it took me forever to figure it out!). Your images truly express the darkness of your winter.
    Here’s to warmer days and well wishes for you!

    XX

    March 9, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    • Thanks Karen! Yeah, I definitely have quite a number of food intolerances as I’m figuring out now. Lactose, gluten, nuts apparently and since the diet is working also all the starches and lots of the sugars. Meh. I wish I could just eat anything!

      I hope it’s not as cold over at yours?

      xx

      March 15, 2013 at 2:29 am

  7. Glad to see you back, Verena. Nice images.

    March 9, 2013 at 10:22 pm

  8. I’m very happy to hear you are feeling a bit better…
    I hope that things only continue to improve!
    Amazing images, too, of course – as always!🙂

    March 11, 2013 at 7:00 pm

    • Thank you so much🙂 I seem to be having setbacks every now and then, but generally things are looking up. And I’m trying to not let it ruin my life anyway.
      Are you well?

      March 15, 2013 at 2:36 am

Leave a Reply

