one day at a time

visiting the hospital (#12)

Some people are unlucky. I would say I belong to them, but seriously, there are people who are even more unlucky! My friend Damien had a rather silly accident when running after a train and ended up in hospital. So, I packed some things for him, including a batch of almond muffins to combat the dreadful hospital food, and went over to visit him. It meant going out into the first snow of the year.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

I took the U-Bahn to Naturkunde Museum where surprisingly I found a dinosaur on the wall. I got off at this station so many times to go to tango that I thought I knew this station reasonably well. Obviously I had used another exit before that didn’t involve any dinosaurs.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

The hospital is one of the tallest buildings in the area, so the rooms on the upper floors have a great view! You can see the new Hauptbahnhof and part of the river behind buildings that I assume also belong to the hospital. Obviously my friend couldn’t enjoy the view much, because he was mostly in bed during his stay. He was released a couple of days later and is now nursing his injury at home.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

And what’s the lesson? Don’t ever run after a train! Haste often leads to stupid accidents and mishaps. And nothing feels as bad as being housebound due to a silly mishap that could have been prevented with a bit of patience.

2 responses

  1. You have raised the bar. A photo essay!

    January 27, 2013 at 4:44 pm

  2. Amelioration to your friend. You’ve put your post very good photographic series.

    January 28, 2013 at 7:06 pm

Leave a Reply

