one day at a time

making gummibears (#11)

Since I started my new diet, I actually had to live without one of my favourite comfort foods: Gummibears. I mean the commercial ones with all the sugar and flavouring agents. I was always quite addicted to gummibears. Even during my school times I ate a packet a day and all the sugar probably didn’t help my gut problems. Even before I started the diet I tried to cut down on them, but have to say that I didn’t manage that very well. Additionally there is the problem that gelatin is actually good for the gut for some reason. I think I was actually unconsciously keeping symptoms in check by eating so much gelatin each day. No wonder then that making gummibears was one of the first things I tried to figure out. Now I have perfected the process and I eat almost as many gummibears as before. Just now I know that it’s actually good for me and I don’t have to feel guilty for eating them!

All you need is:

a candy mold
130 ml of fruit juice
5-10 ml of lemon juice
3 packets of powdered gelatin
sweetener to taste (I use pure dextrose from the pharmacy)

I know that in Breaking the Vicious Cycle it says that fruit juices are supposed to be diluted, but I think it doesn’t say so for making gelatin. I looked it up, but still there seems to be some controversy about this. The book itself does not give a recipe for making the gelatin itself, so I think in this case it’s up to everyone themselves to interpret the information available. In the BTVC yahoo group the opinion was to dilute it, but I interpret the information differently. If you’re unsure about this, then please dilute the juice. I myself seem to do fine without diluting the juice for the gelatin, while I do tend to get a little reaction when drinking it by itself. You have to decide for yourself.

Mix the juices in a saucepan and sprinkle the powdered gelatin over it. I also add my dextrose at this point, but you can also make it with honey or without any sweetener, if the juice is sweet enough by itself. I let this sit for a few minutes so that the gelatin soaks a bit. Then, when it hardens a little bit and looks a bit funky like in the picture below, it is time to heat it up.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Once it’s all liquid again, pour the mixture into a measuring jar with a nose. Then pour it carefully in the mold. There might be some foam forming, which doesn’t really hurt the process. If you don’t like it foamy, then pour it through a stainer first. After pouring the whole mixture, let the molds stand for a few minutes so that the mixture can solidify a bit. If you don’t wait, you might spill it. Then put the mold in the freezer for 15-20 minutes.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

In this case I used orange juice, which I wasn’t so fond of in the end. They look good, but taste wise they seemed a litte too bitter. I prefer to use apple juice, grape juice or stronger juices like cranberry or pomegranate. My favourites are definitely the cranberry ones, but for those you need quite a bit of sweetener, because they turn out pretty sour otherwise. Don’t forget the lemon juice, because else they tend to taste a bit funny. Like chicken, one of my friends said, when I was still in the process of figuring it out.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Store them in the fridge, or else they will go a bit soft and gooey. I took them to the cinema once and after them sitting a while on my lap eating them became very sticky business. I assume that this doesn’t happen with commercial ones because they use starch or other agents to prevent them from sticking to each other.

If you don’t use sweetener then this is the absolutely guilt free snack, because then it’s just juice and gelatin. I’m a big fan!

For the molds you can get silicone chocolate molds. They turn out a bit bigger than commercial gummibears, but I don’t mind that at all. There are tons of different varieties of these molds. I have the dinosaur one you see used here, one with star shapes and another one that is Christmas related.

6 responses

  1. yummyy

    January 26, 2013 at 1:19 pm

  2. You’re such a good photographer. Another almost photo essay. I side with you on seeing the progress to experiment with alternative foods and being sure that you actually enjoy it. I think you’re worthy of encouragement and that you are “challenging” (quotes for emphasis) the old concepts. I think that largely in America at least, we’ve been subject to dumming down and food for profit. Various exciting films have come around such as Forks over Knives. Once a person challenges the old ideas, I think life starts to really get exciting.

    January 27, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    • Here in Europe it’s also going towards that. A lot of people can’t even manage to cook their own pasta soup, so they all eat heavily processed unhealthy food. Of course there are exceptions, but usually the good stuff is way more expensive and takes up quite a bit of time to prepare. If I had the choice, I don’t know what I’d do. I’m generally forced to seek out the healthier more natural food sources.

      January 27, 2013 at 8:29 pm

  3. My wife stepped in. Upon asking her, she thinks to favor strawberries and blueberries as they have a lower glycemic index. She mentioned, “why just juice?” She mentioned blending, making the combination juice, and adding greens. Baby fresh spinach as an example is fairly sweet and goes well with fruit.She goes extreme with lots of well water, raw foods, 60% greens in smoothies, and often more than I can handle. We at least are pushing ahead with ideas. I do sympathize that the human body struggles miserably with dealing with dairy, alcohol, flesh, and wheat. I’m 54. My health is ok, but I talk things up more than I live it right.

    January 27, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    • Interesting indeed to try this with whole fruit. So far I’ve only done this with juice, because it’s far simpler and I wasn’t yet able to stomach raw fruit. Now I’ve come along a bit and I think I might try the blueberry thing at some point!

      For me dairy and meat is just about doable. In fact it would be very difficult to do this diet without them, since there are no fillers left on this diet thanks to no starches. Protein is a reasonably ok filler, although not quite a calorie dense as the typical carbs. Getting enough protein from nuts would also be hardly possible, especially since I have a ton of foods I still can’t stomach. Most of the greens are still too rough on my system and most pulses are out too. I guess I just have to accept that I have to eat meat. If your body produces enough stomach acid, meat is actually quite easy on the stomach in comparison.

      January 27, 2013 at 8:37 pm

Leave a Reply

