one day at a time

ham and avocado omelette (#9)

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

 

Cooking every day takes up a lot of time. I now eat a starch free diet, so I can’t rely on pasta, potatoes, rice or bread to fill me up. It feels like I actually have to eat a lot more than before, although it probably only seems that way because everything needs to be prepared. I can’t just skip cooking a meal by having sandwiches.

Some days I prepare things that only need to be put in the oven, like roasted chicken legs and pumpkin, or roasted pork fillets. Then I can just watch something while the oven is doing the rest. Frying up some chicken or fish with zucchini is also pretty quick, but then I actually have to stand next to it. I have strategies to not get bored while cooking, like watching series or listening to audiobooks while cooking. It’s important not to get too distracted though. The other day I actually managed to burn my chicken a bit, because I was gaping open-mouthed at an action scene. Audiobooks don’t demand as much attention and you can have your eyes on the food.

Still, the best strategy not to get bored is to prepare quick food. Eggs are simple and quick, so the other day I decided to try to make an omelette. My favourite combination involves egg, avocado, prosciutto and a bit of cheese, in this case a 9 month aged cheddar. It tastes nice and the avocado helps to make it look a bit more interesting. It didn’t turn out perfect – more like a tortilla than an omelette, but I still enjoyed it.

2 responses

  1. I won’t comment too much. I see now, no rice. Or just let me know if my comments help. What about Quinoa? It is vaguely similar to an omelette idea in that is combines so well with veggies, is robust as a cooked dish, fragrant, and it is actually a complete protein. She does quinoa exactly the way oatmeal is done, but with luscious, artisan olive oil and a lot of garlic, (actually she calls it organic elephant garlic) then all the color, the veggies. I wish you well with things! It’s more fun to look over your blog & great photos than do school work, but back to work for me now.

    January 27, 2013 at 5:28 pm

    • Quinoa is also not possible. All grains and pseudo-grains like quinoa and amaranth are gone, as well as most tubers. I have to say also that quinoa never agreed well with me. I always suspected that it actually messed with my brain, in a similar fashion to what gluten does to me. I sometimes had very strange vivid colour experiences after eating it. I guess certain proteins just don’t agree well with me.

      January 27, 2013 at 9:41 pm

Leave a Reply

