one day at a time

walking in the drizzle (#8)

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Did I mention how dreary the weather is in Berlin at the moment? Rain, rain and following that there will obviously be more rain. I wandered around the neighbourhood on the way to find another doctor I’ve been recommended. I walked hunched, almost with my head bowed, the hood of my coat pulled far down to shield my camera from the drizzle. The streets were wet and the reflections of the street lights flashed at certain angles.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

The doctor’s office was in another building with several doctors, just like the house next door. The practice itself was closed – they do tend to have weird hours in Germany -, but I still took my time to look at the other office on the same floor. It was a neurologist with a sleep lab. Immediately all my sleepless nights flashed up in my memory. I walked out into the drizzle again and went to the shop across the street to buy some groceries. I forgot to buy apples, so on the way back I was thinking about muffin recipes. Maybe a few spoonfuls of freshly squeezed orange juice and some orange peels could be substituted for those apples? Worth a try. Almond muffins are now my secret weapon.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Then finally the drizzle stopped. I pushed the hood from my head and started looking up again. The hunched walking in the rain just adds to the dreariness of it all. How low those lights hung and how long all those shadows were. I wish the rain would stop.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

8 responses

  1. liramusic

    Absolutely great. A lot of snow here. I’m having some success with B&W, inspired by you. School takes all my time so very few posts from me. North of Bangor, a lot of snow and at one point -10. Even if I do not comment much, you’re a great photographer.

    January 9, 2013 at 2:20 am

  2. In autumn I was in Berlin. Still the sun shone every morning. Your city is very beautiful, I hope it happens soon so come winter and a smile to your face. 😉

    January 9, 2013 at 4:27 am

  3. Great shots! Lovely and atmospheric, with a good commentary! 🙂

    January 9, 2013 at 7:31 am

  4. I love the mood in your images!!

    January 9, 2013 at 3:27 pm

  5. Tammy

    The black and white tones in all of these really brings attention to the subjucts of the images! Especially love the shadows!

    January 9, 2013 at 4:51 pm

  6. Great, glistening, atmospheric sequence, Verena.

    January 9, 2013 at 10:45 pm

  7. Nice textures, shadows and light play.

    January 25, 2013 at 3:05 pm

Leave a Reply

