one day at a time

reaching towards the sky (#7)

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

Trips to the airport are nerve-wrecking. It always involves waiting or saying goodbye. People get anxious, taxis here and there, buses, trains. It always ends up less relaxed than it should be and often, especially when my man is leaving, I have to go back home alone. Today again I was dreading the part where I would open the door and it would be empty and quiet. So, I wandered.

Instead of taking the bus right home I got off early, walked into a mall, bought some things in a supermarket and looked through a couple of shops. It wasn’t a particularly nice mall, so there was not much to see. Instead of taking the bus I got on the subway to continue my journey. At Leopoldplatz I poked my head out of the subway entrance, because I thought I remembered seeing a particular shop at this station. I was mistaken, so I changed lines and continued my journey home. Down in the station I witnessed how 6 police officers searched a couple of youths. For one of the guys it was such a routine thing that he calmly finished his soft drink before emptying his pockets.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

At Osloer Straße I stopped for a moment, watched the people walking past, waiting in line for the ATM machine, eating. There was something strange about how these people wafted past each other, more focused on their mobile phones than on each other. I felt disconnected from them, as if I was watching strange bugs crawling over each other in a box. Then somehow the feeling left again and it hit me that all these people, every single one of them, had their own little lives with their own little problems, places to be, people to meet. Humanity invaded the box. Not bugs, glorified apes. Glorified apes going around the world in glorified boxes.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

I like breathing in when I get out of the subway. The air down there is stale and it smells of rubber. Burnt rubber. When I left Osloer Straße just a couple of blocks from my house, the air felt so cold and crisp. It was as if someone splashed water into my face. I looked up to the sky and I saw this:

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

One response

  1. liramusic

    GREAT work.

    January 9, 2013 at 2:21 am

Leave a Reply

