one day at a time

apple almond muffins and banana pancakes (#5)

apple almond muffins © Verena Fischer 2013

apple almond muffins © Verena Fischer 2013

About 2 1/2 months ago I started a new diet. It’s not one of those weight loss diets that you might suspect, no it’s actually a diet that is designed to get my health back. I have celiac disease and I’m one of the quite common cases where the glutenfree diet just doesn’t seem to work at all. Well, now I’m trying the specific carbohydrate diet, which is even more restrictive, but seems to have much better chances of actually helping me. After this short time I already feel much better, I go out more and my symptoms have improved quite a bit. It’s not all shiny yet – healing with this diet may take years -, but the diet seems to already work better for me than the gluten free diet.

On the first day when I was having a bowl of greasy chicken soup with carrots – I don’t like carrots – I actually started to cry. The thought of eating like this depressed me terribly. Bland, boring, tons of meat. It was the opposite of how I was eating! I probably waited 2 weeks after finding the diet before actually trying it, just because it all seemed so daunting! Giving up all those gluten free treats and pasta? Terrible thought! And still, in the end I did it, because I was just feeling that bad.

After 2 1/2 months I actually realise that I much prefer the style of eating to my previous gluten free diet. The gf diet always felt really unhealthy, because I was having a really high carb version of it with too much pasta and sweets. Now I actually eat much less sweet stuff and I really like it. Greasy chicken? Yum, I even leave the skin in the soup! And then I also realised that there is still tons of nice food that I can eat! Today I made banana pancakes for breakfast – healthy since it’s just banana and egg – and later some apple almond muffins. Well, the muffins are obviously less healthy, because they involve quite a bit of honey, but they were absolutely delicious! Even my man liked them and he doesn’t follow the diet himself.

banana pancakes © Verena Fischer 2013

banana pancakes © Verena Fischer 2013

I’m also discovering all these nice ways to eat meat, so I’m actually enjoying this a lot lately. Just now we had some pork chops with apple sauce for dinner. Greasy? Yes, but so delicious! And by now I also know that greasy is actually good for me – if you eat less carbs you have to eat more fats, that’s what the logic of this diet dictates. Yes, at the beginning this diet was really tough and I cried. I just didn’t know that I’d actually eat nicer food than before!

You can quite possibly expect a few more food pictures these days. After all I’m much more focused on food these days and on top of things the weather outside is just miserable! Rain, rain and more rain!

4 responses

  1. For years I had a saying tacked to the wall that read: Your focus is your reality. Since your reality is staying healthy it makes sense to focus on your journey.🙂

    January 6, 2013 at 12:10 am

    • Oh, it’s more of a getting-healthy journey. I’m still far from actually being healthy … *sigh*
      Well, I’m working on it.

      January 9, 2013 at 1:56 am

  2. liramusic

    I wish you the best.. We do the power shakes. That sort of food genre where you own a high-speed blender. One is called Nutri-bullet. You make nutrient-rich fruit shakes. However, what you picture here makes me yearn for coffee. Yikks. I love sweet things and bitter coffee. Of course I do not eat animal flesh, but with oils we do a lot of study and invent recipes. It may be worth thinking about. Instead of any milk or came we use coconut cream. Hope my comment is fun. Our best to you.

    January 9, 2013 at 2:28 am

  3. Louise

    You will feel great if you just stick with the SCD. I too am a non-responsive celiac, and found the SCD really made a difference for me. I was diagnosed at age 18 months, and am now 60! The SCD is basically going gluten-free, then eliminating processed sugars as well. Very healthy. Good luck on your journey!

    February 14, 2013 at 4:05 am

Leave a Reply

