one day at a time

soviet monuments (#4)

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

It is still winter, although there is no snow. Instead we have had rain for 2 days and I felt not much inclination to go outside. Even the days seem like night is already falling. A nice movie and a cup of tea, that’s what this weather calls for, although I would love to go to the zoo. These birds a couple of days ago had to do I guess. I like how crisp and wintery the picture turned out.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

At Alexanderplatz we took a look at the Urania Weltzeituhr, which has a lovely soviet flair to it. I laboured a bit to get the tv tower into the picture as well, since I was using my Canon EF 35mm prime lens. I did alright, but wish I had stopped the lens down a bit as well instead of shooting this one wide open. Well, next time.

© Verena Fischer 2013

© Verena Fischer 2013

We were walking from Alexanderplatz in the direction of the museum island, so of course we had to stop at this monument. Marx and Engels, the two bearded guys, are always worth a picture. Did you know that I was actually born in Karl-Marx-Stadt? A number of leftwing friends are incredibly jealous, because my passport actually says so. The statue here in Berlin is nothing in comparison to the massive Karl Marx monument we have in my hometown by the way. Soviet architecture, highrises, crazy soviet monuments …! Going to East Berlin always feels a bit like going back home.

One response

  1. liramusic

    Outta sight!

    January 9, 2013 at 2:29 am

Leave a Reply

