one day at a time

geometry (#3)

geometry © Verena Fischer 2013

geometry © Verena Fischer 2013

 

There is one way to lure my man out of the house: Mention a bookshop. Yesterday it definitely did the trick, especially after seeing that the bookshop was relatively close to Alexanderplatz. Berlin sights are another good lure. On the way to the shop we passed under the TV tower and the structure of the building at the base added a nice geometric shape to the picture. It was taken with my Canon EOS 450D and my new Canon EF 35mm f/2.0.

The bookshop we went to was König Buchhandlung, which is an art bookstore. It’s really quite big and has also a great selection of philosophy books. I like that there were more books in it than I was willing to investigate. This means there is more to find during a second or third trip. We only bought a few small philosophy related books, but it was definitely worth the journey. We will definitely come back there.

I’m really enjoying my new lens by the way. I already got a 50mm f/1.4 prime lens last year, which produces great bokeh and is very fast. However, that one is not exactly the best lens for all situations, because of the crop factor of my camera. It always feels as if you have to go very far away to get the picture into the frame. It’s brilliant for low light situations and portraits though. The new one approximates a 55mm focal length frame, which is great for an all purpose prime lens.

The new lens will also come in handy if I buy myself a used analog EOS, an idea I’ve been toying with as well. You can get them very cheaply nowadays and now I already have 2 fitting prime lenses. Wouldn’t cost more than 50 quid and I’d already have a good setup. I already have an analog camera, a 55 year old Zorki, and I love it, but it’s hard to find lenses for it, especially wide angle ones. This year I want to explore analog photography, so a bit more flexibility might be nice. This is something to be thinking about in spring though. It’s too cold and uncomfortable outside to be mucking around with film!

10 responses

  1. Tammy

    Love, love, love the perspective! The black and white tones really bring out the shapes!

    January 3, 2013 at 10:32 pm

    • Thanks Tammy! Yes, I didn’t hesitate at all to convert this to black and white. Whenever there are mostly shapes it’s a great choice.

      January 4, 2013 at 5:17 pm

  2. Reblogged this on Joshua Lisec.

    January 3, 2013 at 10:48 pm

  3. Be careful, analog photography can be addictive !-) Only joking of course, you’ll enjoy it with your primes!
    robert

    January 3, 2013 at 11:13 pm

    • Oh, I know Robert! It’s so much fun. In winter it’s a bit annoying though. It’s hard enough to get the settings right on a digital camera when your hands are all stiff and frozen …!

      January 4, 2013 at 5:19 pm

  4. Eye-wateringly good perspective! And I’m so with you on vintage cameras in the cold – I have serious trouble with the controls and chilled fingers!

    January 3, 2013 at 11:20 pm

    • Thanks Mike! The filmforward dial on my Zorki is stiff enough even in summer. In winter I’m just scared that I’ll destroy the film with it! Well, and getting the settings right with stiff cold hands is always worse with an analog camera as well …! I just wait until it’s warmer again.

      January 4, 2013 at 5:21 pm

      • I know exactly what you mean, Verena. On a very cold morning I couldn’t shift the shutter control on my Zenit and actually adjusting the zoom was a struggle. An occupational hazard of these old beauties!

        January 4, 2013 at 11:29 pm

      • Definitely a problem! Considering how cold it gets in Russia in winter I wonder how they did it! Of course the metal also doesn’t help with the cold fingers. My Zorki is on holiday until March😉

        January 5, 2013 at 10:30 pm

  5. liramusic

    I laughing a little bit. Ok, enough of that. Wonderful picture.

    January 9, 2013 at 2:30 am

Leave a Reply

